Review: Fire Born, by Christina Moore

Fire Bornhttp://www.amazon.com/Fire-Born-Firehouse-343-ebook/dp/B00B106CJ6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1359117999&sr=1-1&keywords=fire+born

A complete adrenaline rush. I couldn’t put it down.

Now that I got that off my chest, let’s get on with the review.

Fire Born is a full-length novel which skirts that fine line between thriller and  romance. In fact, the emotional involvement of the two main characters adds to the thrill and makes it all the more realistic.

The story begins with a crew attending a fire. A lot happens, and the action is there, but for an uninitiated, like me, it felt like a lot of information to take in. Fear not, as this soon settles into a perfect rhythm, and we get swept along with the investigation into the cause of the fire. All is not what it seems, and what initially looked like faulty wiring takes a more sinister turn. No, I’m not telling you any more; read for yourselves.

The plot is brilliantly thought-out. There were so many twists and turns, enough to keep me guessing, and even when I thought I had my answer, I still didn’t believe it and was fooled into looking in the wrong direction. I thoroughly enjoyed that.

The descriptions were good and provided the perfect canvas for my mind’s picture to roll against. Characterization – again, I couldn’t fault it. I fell in love with every single one of the characters – except the bad guys – and though the sudden spark between Chris and Martie seemed unlikely, it was beautifully portrayed; I wanted it to be real, for their sakes. The dialogues flowed naturally. I felt like I was part of the team, part of the family of fire-fighters, part of the community, and I felt welcome and comfortable there.

The action scenes were numerous and fast-paced. And then a mad man’s obsession turns extreme and the pace increases further. This is an author who knows how to build up tension. The respites come in the form of romance which develops at a steady, unstoppable pace. There are some scenes to make you blush, and they’re tastefully written.

The resolution is powerful and very satisfying. I was entertained, horrified, amused, saddened and then hopeful and happy again – a huge range of emotions, and they all felt real. Fire Born was a very enjoyable read. I fully recommend it to anyone who prefers an action-packed storyline and doesn’t mind putting their work on hold to find out what happens next. I can only award it five very well-deserved stars.

3 Replies to “Review: Fire Born, by Christina Moore”

Leave a comment