Awards!

Hello, my friends. This is one of those posts where I give thanks.

I have received the One Lovely Blog Award from a wonderful blogger who taught me a lot of things:

M. G. Edwards. Thank you, Michael, for your gift.

Now, Michael doesn’t believe in following the rules (a common condition among writer-kind) and asked that, instead of simply dishing out seven things about himself, we should put some effort into this ourselves, and ask the seven questions we want answered ourselves. So I did – you can see my questions and Michael’s answers in the comments right beneath his post.

I am going to nominate the 7 bloggers who deserve this award from me, thus breaking the rules in true writerly fashion, and I’ll tell you seven things about myself, but only one set of the seven secrets per post (otherwise, you’ll know too much!). But it is one post, you say. Well, yeah, but you didn’t get to the bottom of it yet. So, wait and see.

The fifteen chosen ones for the One Lovely Blog Award are:

Ritesh Kala’s Book ReviewsSydney Aaliyah, Reading ‘En Vogue’, Emma Meade, Terribly Write, The Paradox Series, Julia Crane.

 

 

But that’s not all. Because I received another award, the very same day, this one from Emily Guido – the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Thank you, Emily.

So, here are my 7 nominees for this award, people who – I hope – will never stop writing.

 

yellowjac, awritersdailyblisspursuit, karensdifferentcorners, The Write Transition, fuonlyknew, The Dream of a Writer, Patti Roberts.

 

 

And here are seven things about me, combined effort for the two awards.

 

1. When I was a kid I used to jump from tree to tree, because climbing down and up again was time-consuming. Yes, I used to play out of my grandparents’ easy-spotting sight, as often as possible.

2. I learned ice-skating from an early age and was quite good at it.

3. For a time in my teens I wanted to move to the Faeroe Islands (not sure if I was only trying to get away from my mother).

4. While I adore chocolate, I hate chocolate icecream.

5. I believe in smiling a lot. This often leads to giggles, and then to uncontrollable fits of laughter. Just ask my kids.

6. I am able to find my way around quite easily because, contrary to the common belief, I can read a map.

7. I have spent eighteen years with a Brit and still don’t understand cricket. I get rugby, only just.

20 Replies to “Awards!”

  1. So let me see if I have this: you are a smiling, giggling, tree-hopping monkey who can read maps while eating chocolate. Now that is award-worthy in and of itself!

    Thanks so much for another nomination. Is much appreciated. 🙂

  2. Congratulationns on more recognition Ella. Thanks so much for your nomination. I am going to combine this with the Illuminating Blogger Award. Have a wonderful Independence Day!

    1. Laura, all I can say is I had good teachers. I looked at your blog and others’, too, and learned. Thank you for being there to show me the way : )

  3. Congrats, and thanks for nominating Terribly Write for the One Lovely Blog award. Terribly Write has been called many things (most of which I can’t repeat), but “lovely” was never one of them.

    1. Ok. Then, to fix that, I will create an award especially for it. It’s got to have ‘funny’ and ‘typical fails’ in there somewhere. I love your posts. Have this one for now and I’ll work on something better in the meantime : )

  4. Ella, thank you so much for the ‘One Lovely Blog Award’ nomination! Tomorrow just happens to be my 1 Year Blogoversary, and this is my first blog award. Thank you for making it extra special! Since this is my first blog award, I will need you to fill me in…do I then nominate 7 others as well to keep it going? Thank you again for the award 🙂 . I am so humbled and elated!

    1. Oh, damn. I forgot to put the rules in there. Ok. You need to do 3 things: thank the nominator, which you just did; nominate (15 says the rules, but I like 7) others that are worthy of that award in your opinion; and finally, tell us 7 things about yourself (and let us know where to read them, I assume you’ll use your blog, but not everyone does). Just a word of warning – make sure the people you nominate know they have been nominated.
      Happy Blogoversary! Many Happy returns! : )

  5. You’re welcome, Ella! Well deserved! It is true that we wouldn’t be writers if we didn’t bend or break rules sometimes, eh? Who wants to read conventional writing? Your questions to me were superb and very funny. I really enjoyed them. 🙂

  6. Hope this helps you understand cricket better !!!!!

    CRICKET: As explained to a foreigner…
    You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. Each man that’s in the side that’s in goes out, and when he’s out he comes in and the next man goes in until he’s out. When they are all out, the side that’s out comes in and the side thats been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.
    When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay all out all the time and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have been out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!

    Brian

  7. Congrats, Ella.
    I’m heading off on hols but I will get around to creating an award post later in the month.
    Not many people get cricket!!

Leave a comment