RSS

I’ve Just Collected Four Awards!

25 Oct

Many, many thanks to lovely Laura at fuonlyknew, who deemed me worthy of four awards. I am honoured and blushing, Laura, just so you know.

Here they are:

Rules of ‘One Lovely Blog Award’:

1) Include the award in your post.

2) Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them.

3) Tell 7 random facts about yourself.

4) Nominate 7 other blogs and let them know you’ve done so.

.

Rules of ‘Beautiful Blogger Award’:

1) Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them.

2) List 7 things about yourself.

3) Nominate 7 other bloggers and let them know you’ve done so.

Rules of ‘The Don’t Do A Damn Thing Award… I Just Like Your Blog’:

– yeah, there are none! How cool is that?

And finally…

Rules of the ‘Inspiring Blog Award’:

1) Thank the nominator and link back to them.

2) Tell 7 random things about yourself.

3) Nominate 15 blogs and tell them you’ve done so.

As you can see, there is a lot of overlap, so I’ll hocus-pocus (damn, you can tell I’ve been writing about witches and magic lately!) them all into one:

The seven things about me:

1) I hate dusting, and hence don’t have knick-knacks;

2) I have given all but my last hundred ‘paper’ books away, and some of those belong to other members of my family or are reference books I use in my editing. I own several hundred electronic books on my PC and kindle instead (much easier to dust – do you see a theme here?);

3) I have huge maps stuck on the walls in my writing corner – the world, Europe and the UK – and have several others occupying a huge chunk of my filing cabinet;

4) At some point in my life I wanted to be either a nun or a soldier. Fortunately, neither happened, which is just as well (says she with hindsight) as I hate following someone else’s rules;

5) I prefer soap to hand wash (I guess that makes me old-fashioned, but that’s ok with me);

6) I would gladly jump out of a plane, preferably attached to a functioning parachute, but I would not feel as comfortable diving, especially around sharks;

7) One of the things I wish I could do, but I’m hopeless at, is free-style drawing, the kind one does with a pencil.

And A LOT of blogs I honestly enjoy (I could probably come up with at least double that, if I really thought about it):

Laura’s is definitely a top ten candidate, but she nominated me, so I guess I’d better save her having to go through all this again.

Patti’s Paradox – for its amazing complexity

Michael’s for his dedication to producing good quality reviews, and for his zest for life

Anna at Between The Lines Reviews, for…well… her reviews

Emily, for her gorgeous blog

Carrie, for her tenacity and unwavering humour through her publishing experience

Victoria, a new friend who is awe-some! You’ve got to meet her.

Kristie, for her enthusiasm in pursuing her dreams – she’s lovely. Go check her countdown.

Ron, for never giving up

Daniel, because he always makes me smile… and sometimes gives me nightmares

Ahmad, also for never giving up

and so many more of my friends. I thank you for being there and brightening my day.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2012 in Just A Thought

 

Tags:

22 responses to “I’ve Just Collected Four Awards!

  1. fundinmental

    October 25, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    what a great post. i loved learning a little more about you. the dusting thing, i’m with you all the way, but i do have many momentos of my travels. thanks for sharing.

     
    • ellamedler

      October 25, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      *blushing* That scrapbook of my travels is long overdue. My days are just not long enough!

       
    • fuonlyknew

      October 25, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      Just many:)

       
  2. Carrie Rubin

    October 25, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    Thank you, Ella! I appreciate the nods. I have all of these except The Don’t Do A Damn Thing Award one, which is great because I don’t have to do anything. 🙂

    Fun to learn some things about you, but you are a braver woman than I. No plane jumping for me!

     
    • ellamedler

      October 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      Yeah, but I bet you wouldn’t worry about diving with sharks… would you? 🙂

       
      • Carrie Rubin

        October 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm

        Hmm, I think I’ll pass that one by, too. 😉

         
  3. Kristie

    October 25, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Awesome! Mwah!

     
  4. "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido

    October 25, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    This is a testament how much we are a blogging FAMILY…. I gave those awards to Laura! I am honored and humbled and will surely mention it in my blog. I love all my blogging friends and I can’t go a day without checking everyone’s blogs. I just hope I don’t lose everyone once I move to a different wordpress address my publisher set up!!!! I love you all!! Sincerely, Emily

     
    • fuonlyknew

      October 25, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      I’ll follow you anywhere Emily!

       
    • ellamedler

      October 26, 2012 at 8:52 am

      I’ll stalk you, too 🙂

       
  5. Ronald Dahle

    October 25, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Great Ella. Not sure i understand all I know about this though. While I have jumped OUT of hundreds of airplanes I have never jumped OFF one. The secret to swimming with sharks is to always swim with a buddy and make sure he/she swims slower than you. You could have made it as a soldier, I am proof of that, a total renegade, contemptuous, with great disdain of authority. The secret to survival is you have to be good if you possess those qualities. Likewise, you could probably have been a Nun, I would have had trouble with that.

     
    • ellamedler

      October 26, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Ron, thank you. Corrected my missing word. I’ll make an editor out of you yet!
      And thanks for the tip about the swimming buddy – I could definitely do that, I’m a good swimmer.
      Survival has been my game since childhood. That rule I get! 🙂

       
  6. fuonlyknew

    October 25, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    I’m so happy you are enjoying your awards Ella. And it’s great to have you typing away again:)

    I’m also with you about the dusting. I have, over the years, downsized my knickknacks but can’t get rid of all of them. When the cobwebs start spelling out words,DUST ME!, then I get to dusting!

     
    • ellamedler

      October 26, 2012 at 8:54 am

      It’s amazing how life teaches you lessons – like, how to become a minimalist and be happy about it! 😀

       
  7. Ria

    October 26, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    4 in one. Wow. That’s major. 🙂 Congrats. And I am as reluctant as you are when it comes to dusting. My utterly messed up room is testimony to that. But I could never part with my precious books. I am like Gollum when it comes to protecting them. 😛

     
    • ellamedler

      October 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Ha, ha. Trying to imagine you as Gollum. 😀
      And those precious books are there, in your mind. You can never lose them.

       
  8. Emma

    October 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Congrats, Ella.

     
  9. J.D.Hughes

    November 16, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Well done, Ella! Four in one go? Phew!

    Your thought that you should have been a nun or a soldier chimes with my belief as a 12 year old that I would either become a priest or a member of the SAS. Fortunately, neither the Church nor the Army had to contend with my ambition and I ended writing scripts and making commercials, so both institutions had a lucky escape!

     
    • ellamedler

      November 17, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Ha ha. Yeah – same here. I would have probably tried to change both. Or died trying 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
