Review: The DCI Jones Casebook: Ellis Flynn, by Kerry J Donovan

dciAmazon US

Amazon UK

A perfectly formed police procedural, nice and tight writing style with just enough detail to paint precise descriptions, and a relentless plot made this a book I just couldn’t put down.

As plots go, this is a winner right from the very beginning. It’s a race against time, the tension mounts, and just as you think it’s all over – the plot explodes. Everything just gets a hundred times worse. The time restraints get tighter, the tension is through the roof, there are twists everywhere, and even if you know or expect certain reactions from important, yet auxiliary players, all you can do is read on and scream at the pages, because no one will hear your shouts of ‘No!’, ‘Watch out!’ and ‘What a plonker!’

Brilliant book! Absolutely exceeded my expectations. It would have had five shiny stars even before I figured the DCI’s favourite tipple is also mine. I know there is another book in the series, and I’m getting it. Definitely worth the time and money. Highly recommended.

8 Replies to “Review: The DCI Jones Casebook: Ellis Flynn, by Kerry J Donovan”

  1. Your enthusiasm is contagious Ella. I’m going to go check this book out right now! If it brings so much to you, I know I’ll enjoy it too!
    Soory if I’ve been scarce lately. Half the time I’m not receiving email notices for new posts from other blogs. It seems it comes and goes and is happening to everyone.

    1. Hi, Laura. If you do get the book – underpriced, in my opinion – I take no responsibility for any of your work being done or food consumed (or forgotten) by you while you read it. It really is relentless. 🙂
      I know you love me, and I’m busy cooking up HUGE things, so I know we’ll meet up at some point. 🙂

  2. This does sound like a fantastic book after reading your awesome review, Ella. I have added it to my wish list. I am trying to refrain from getting involved in new books that are not by my favorite authors, such as yourself ^_^, until I catch up with my backlog of R2R, of which yours is one. LOL I empathize with Laura, because I am in the same boat. I think it is an epidemic. I wonder if ‘they’ were not anticipating us bloggers being so passionate about books that we feel we must share them with the world. Hmmmmmm. I wonder how many book emails pass through cyberspace in one day. Have a good one!
    sherry @ fundinmental

  3. Ella, I thought I commented on this post yesterday? At any rate, I’m proud to claim Kerry Donovan as a fellow member of eNovel Authors at Work. Thanks for profiling his book and writing such a wonderful review!

Leave a Reply

