RSS

Review: We Walk Alone, by Mariah E. Wilson

22 Aug

WeWalkAlone230dpiAmazon US

Amazon UK

You know those times when you read the first lines of a book and it resonates so well with you, you feel it’s as if destiny threw it into your hands? This book and I were meant to meet, I know it!

So much emotion, and so easily connecting with me! My favorite has to be Not For Sale, or maybe This Wonderland of Life, or maybe Conversations in the Rain, the opening poem. I can’t make up my mind. I’m usually hesitant when picking up a poetry book, especially contemporary poetry, because I don’t feel I can always understand the poet’s message. There was no way I couldn’t understand these. I felt that connection right away, and I sat reading and re-reading them because there was just so much pleasure in reading those words and pausing on those pictures they sketched in my head over and over again.

I don’t want to waffle on forever. Click on the ‘look inside’ and read the first poem. Just read it. I guarantee you’ll feel the link, and you’ll want to read more. I loved this book. Five huge shiny stars from me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2014 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Review: We Walk Alone, by Mariah E. Wilson

  1. Linda Lee Williams

    August 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    Ella, thanks for posting. Poets are few and far between in our society today and are barely recognized when they do appear. Will gladly share this beautiful book!

     
    • ellamedler

      August 22, 2014 at 2:09 pm

      I loved Mariah’s work 🙂

       
  2. sherry fundin

    August 22, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    A beautiful cover. I don’t read a lot of poetry, but do so occasionally. Glad you enjoyed this so much. Have a great weekend, Ella.
    sherry @ fundinmental

     

Leave a Reply

 
