Review: The Black Door, by Charlotte Howard

BDAmazon US

Amazon UK

This is not the first Charlotte Howard book I’ve read, and it certainly won’t be the last. Her writing has seasoned and matured to the point of very near perfection. The Black Door kept me engrossed from the beginning till the very end. I snacked on unhealthy foods while I was reading, because I simply could not bring myself to leave the story for as long as it took to make a sandwich. Oh, Ms. Howard, you are a wicked writer, and I love your books.

One thing that sets the author’sΒ voice apart is the depth of her observations, the way she bares all, the lack of censorship. There is no way you could be ignoring her characters, because not only do you get to know them, you become them as they struggle to make it through life’s sneaky and often overwhelming challenges.

Everything about this novel is original. Don’t even think you can guess what’s through that keyhole. I will not give the plot away, not one bit, because I could never do it justice. There are so many aspects of this story that rang true with me, so many instances of ‘phew, I had a lucky escape when I was in her shoes’, and still, there was enough humour to lighten the mood and make it all a beautiful experience. “Adventurers Only,” says the cover. I took the leap of faith, and loved my journey. What are you waiting for?

~~~

award ella

For the depth of feeling, for originality, and for an outright beautiful experience, The Black Door wins for Charlotte Howard the Life Changing Read Award. Congratulations! It is very well deserved. Come and join my Awesome Authors Gallery.

 

 

~~~

My review of Seven Dirty Words, by Charlotte Howard.

9 Replies to “Review: The Black Door, by Charlotte Howard”

      1. Just bought a copy. I read a few pages and couldn’t resist. Nice, clean writing and an interesting premise. Not my usual genre, but I look forward to reading it. Thanks for the rec!

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever read a more intriguing and engaging review, Ella! Added The Black Door to my TBR list. Congrats, Charolotte Howard: It’s not everyday an author can earn the distinction of “life-changing read.”

Leave a Reply

