Why Genre Hopping is your best friend

I am not going crazy! This is such a relief!

Shannon A Thompson

Shannon, here, to announce our last guest blogger. That’s right. Our last. I will be back on May 29, but today is a wonderful day, because Ryan Attard – author of The Legacy Series – is sharing his thoughts on genre hopping, something we both feel very passionately about. Ryan has blogged on here before, so you might be familiar with him, but if you’re not, check out his website and podcast by clicking the links.

This is one of those subjects that gets a bad rep just for daring to go against the dogma, as established by . . . who knows who, and who knows where. Personally, I dislike rules and constraints of any sort – the reason I am an artist is because I wish to express myself in a free manner, and trying to limit art in any way shape or form…

View original post 1,183 more words

4 Replies to “Why Genre Hopping is your best friend”

  1. Makes a lot of sense. I’ve always thought that if I was an established author and then wrote in a different genre, I would publish under a different name, but this article makes genre-hopping sound quite logical.

  2. I’ve started doing some genre hopping. I’ve been reading some sweet children’s books and some erotic novels. I’m reviewing a steamy one tomorrow. I can’t believe how many times I shied away from the word erotic! Talk about spanning genres. LOL

    1. I know! For most of my life, I truly believed I only liked thriller and mystery novels. I have to say, the indie world opened my eyes and my appetite. I’m still slightly bewildered by all the choice and freedom one has these days (if only one bothers to look) 🙂

Leave a Reply

