Review: The First, by Lisa M. Green

the firstAmazon US

Amazon UK

What an honest-to-God beautiful read!

The survivors are safe, but only within the walls. This nugget of an idea has formed the basis of many sci-fi, fantasy, or post-apocalyptic novels, but I can honestly say I have never enjoyed the way this concept was treated more than in this book.

What do you do when the trusted elders who are there to guide you turn out to be your guards? When you discovered you’re not merely being protected, but held prisoner?

This is a beautifully written novel, original, and a very enjoyable read. I loved the narrator’s voice – that of Corinne, a young girl who notices far more than she is expected to, and really far more than it’s good for her. The familiarity and ease of address certainly counts for half the fun because, let’s face it, which young girl’s thoughts are straight-flowing and completely logical? But the other half – the quest, the other characters, the plot twists – all blended superbly well to make a very satisfying read.

Absolutely, truly, hugely loved this book. The five stars I award it are fully deserved. I wholeheartedly recommend this novel to anyone, any age. It will bring you hours of fun and enjoyment. I’m certainly glad I found a new author voice to follow. Well done, Lisa M. Green.

3 Replies to “Review: The First, by Lisa M. Green”

    1. Yes, yes they are 😛 And thank you! I’ve already directed the trailers in my head and posted my movie-in-my-head song videos on my website…just to show how crazy I really am 🙂

Leave a Reply

