RSS

Review: Secrets Room, by Kim Faulks

17 Feb

Secrets RoomAmazon US

Amazon UK

Another razor-sharp, super-intuitive read from this amazing author. Secrets Room is every person’s worst nightmare, horror like you’ve never read before. Whatever unresolved issues you may have in your life, fix them, before it’s too late. Because, once in the room, it’ll be almost impossible to face your fears whilst fighting the demons.

If you want dark, you’ll get dark. If you want shocking, you’ll get that, too. If you want incredible insight into human nature, you can do no better than read Kim Faulks’ books. I consider myself an avid reader, averaging several titles a week, and I can honestly say I haven’t read a more untamed, free writing style in many a year.

I read this book as an ARC, and after all this time, it’s still vivid and fresh in my mind. I still have chills when I think of Morgan observing the strangers she’s locked in with, all of which have touched hers or each other’s lives in subtle but very real ways.

The characters are something else! Who would have thought there was so much sadness behind rich-girl Rachel, so much disturbed, unprincipled and misplaced loyalty behind Coulton. Carmen, Dee, Glib – all these characters are so real, so troubled and so afraid, you’ll be thanking your lucky stars you are not them.

The ending is a surprise, and it fits the horror theme of the story perfectly. Nail-biting and impossible to tear your eyes away from the page (and for those of us who are born softies, there is an alternative ending, too). I kept wishing for Slade and Morgan’s love to be given another chance. In a way, they get that. In many others, everyone gets what they deserve.

award ellaA dark, gritty, strikingly visual read with no sugar coating, Secrets Room is a book that deserves more than the five stars I can give it.

For the second time, the only time this has happened so far, Kim Faulks receives the Life Changing Read Award from me.

Congratulations, Kim!

Please visit the Awesome Authors Gallery on my Awards page, to meet Kim Faulks and other very talented authors you would do well to read.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Secrets Room, by Kim Faulks

  1. Carrie Rubin

    February 17, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    Sounds wonderful. I’m all for a good scary read!

     
    • ellamedler

      February 17, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      Kim’s writing is awesome! I wish I could write so well…

       
  2. sherry fundin

    February 17, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    Wow. And she has lots of books. I will definitely be flagging this post so the book doesn’t get lost in the shuffle. Thanks for the awesome review and introduction to an author I didn’t know. ^_^

     
    • ellamedler

      February 18, 2014 at 10:13 am

      All her books have stayed with me. I still remember them. That must be a good sign. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
