RSS

Review: Surviving Mancation, by L.J. Noker

08 Jan

Leo NokerAmazon US

Amazon UK

Nine friends in one remote holiday house for a long weekend of R&R. What could possibly go wrong?

I mean, they’ve got enough food.

Surviving Mancation is an original mix of mystery, crime and thriller, at times introspective and often hilarious, with enough twists to make you pleasantly dizzy. A classic ‘whodunnit’ with a contemporary and entirely plausible ring to it.

I loved the concept of this book, and the beautiful descriptions. I could picture only too well the house, the forest, the lake, even the watcher in the woods. The nine guys spending the weekend together are a motley bunch, each with his own backstory and motivation, intrigue and deep-rooted emotions running pretty close to the surface. Right from the beginning, you wonder: quite how good and how close are these friends?

I enjoyed the banter between friends, the silly antics of Mac and Cody, and even the last-minute betrayal. Really loved them all. There is a scene in a confessional right at the end, so good, it’ll leave you thinking. And then BAM – the ending.

Fully deserving of five stars, Surviving Mancation is one of the few books I’ll likely read again. I recommend it. Scenes of violence and some adult language make it unsuitable for young readers.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Review: Surviving Mancation, by L.J. Noker

  1. Carrie Rubin

    January 8, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    Refreshing to hear about a book where people stay in an isolated cottage and don’t get slaughtered by a psychotic killer. 🙂 Sounds like a fun read.

     
    • ellamedler

      January 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm

      It’s a good read. 🙂

       
  2. sherry fundin

    January 8, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    I love the cover and the title would make me pick this up. It sounds fun. I’m with Carrie, but I do like psychotic killers. ^_^

     
    • ellamedler

      January 8, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      I have a feeling you’d both be satisfied, then… Not giving anything away. 🙂

       
  3. fuonlyknew

    January 9, 2014 at 2:26 am

    Quirky title and I like the cover art. I always enjoy movies and books with a bunch guys interacting. No surprise there is a killer but maybe it’s a woman?

     
  4. fuonlyknew

    January 9, 2014 at 2:29 am

    I thought someone said killer? Shame on me. Sounds like a fun bunch of guys.

     
    • ellamedler

      January 9, 2014 at 7:26 am

      Hahahaha. It’s a… Damn it! You almost got me to give it away! Shame on you, Laura! 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
