RSS

Review: The Super Spies and the Pied Piper, by Lisa Orchard

12 Aug

TheSuperSpiesandthePiedPiper 500x750Amazon US

Amazon UK

The Super Spies’ latest adventure is the third in the series. It centres around Sarah’s need to find her parents, and the dangers of a large corporation whose main focus is not ethics.

As a concept, it was very good. A great lesson in life for the teens, with emphasis on being self-reliant, yet unafraid to rally friends around them when the need arises, with an additional helping of watching out of ulterior motives in the corporate world, where money is paramount in 99% of cases.

I liked the descriptions and the pace was astounding. Far more adventurous, and much faster-flowing action than in the first two books.

The characters were as good as we were accustomed to, and Sarah develops an interest in newcomer Alex, whose presence warms her heart. I can see how the next book might shift into preparing our Super Spy to cope with relationships in a more mature way.

Dialogue flows naturally, people’s reactions are true to form, and the storyline pulls almost perfectly together. I would have liked to see more about Sara’s mother, for example – who features, but isn’t accorded much input – and I would have liked to see a few loose threads tidied up at the end. But I’m sure the Super Spies’ story is not yet complete, and I am looking forward to reading their next adventure.

Like books one and two in the series, I genuinely enjoyed reading The Super Spies and the Pied Piper. I think it makes excellent reading for young adults and even younger teens. A good buy, recommended. 4.5 stars for an almost perfect novel with high educational value and good moral standards.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Review: The Super Spies and the Pied Piper, by Lisa Orchard

  1. Lisa Orchard

    August 12, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Thanks Ella for a wonderful review and all of your time and effort! You are truly a wonderful person! 🙂 (Sorry…sometimes I’m a gusher 🙂 )

     
    • ellamedler

      August 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      I loved the whole series, Lisa. Well done! Keep it up, gal! 🙂

       
  2. fuonlyknew

    August 12, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Another fun series! I love the titles. Had to go check them out on Goodreads and just got back over here. Your tease for this was great. Got me very curious:) And now your review has me more curious!

     
    • ellamedler

      August 13, 2013 at 8:48 am

      I don’t know why this series appealed to me so much. Maybe because I wish I had them when I was the right age… 🙂

       
    • Lisa Orchard

      August 13, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      Hey there fuonlyknew, thanks for checking out my books! I’m glad to hear that you’re curious about them. 🙂 I’m having a great time writing them and I really love my characters. 🙂 I’d love to hear what you think!

       

Leave a Reply

 
