New Release: Maple Lane Manor – Home for Retired Supernaturals, by Cree Walker

Hello and welcome, my friends. Today I’d like to show you a new release: Maple Lane Manor – Home for Retired Supernaturals, by Cree Walker. How awesome is that title?

Cree 1

Cree Walker lives in Northern Maine with her very patient debate partner and their furry love child, mini rat terrier, Titan. When Cree isn’t plugging away at her computer she can most likely be found at the hospital where she works as an advanced psychiatric technician for both children and adults.

To date, Cree has four novel length publications with Naughty Nights Press. Paranormal werewolf romance, Whisper on a Scream, and it’s sequel, Urban Fantasy nominated book for 2012, Willing Sacrifice. She also has paranormal romantic comedy, A Winter’s Grave, book one to the Reaper series and her most recent publication, Maple Lane Manor, Home for Retired Supernaturals. So far, Maple Lane Manor has been a finalist in the 2013 UpAuthors Fiction Challenge and all have received the coveted 5 star review rating from the Paranormal Romance Guild.

~~~

cree 2

Naughty Nights Press

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Maple Lane returns to the retirement home where she grew up, after ten years away, and must face the music. How can she rebuild the dilapidated building, repay a massive mortgage, and restore her residents’ faith in her with her arch-nemesis – Stacy Three Names – breathing down her neck, hungry for an artifact said to grant immortality? As Stacy sabotages Maple’s efforts, the gorgeous new handyman Derek complicates matters with his demon blood and hot attraction.

How can Maple and her residents fight Stacy, find the artifact, and save their home with the rich and powerful of the town arrayed against them?

…And can she trust a demon to help her?

Reviews:

Hard to impress reviewer, Douglas Meeks:
Maple Lane is the namesake and now owner of the retirement home that bears her name (or vice versa). She gained it due to the death of her grandmother under less than clear circumstances.

Derek is a hastily hired, handyman who has few skills other than a good work ethic and a pleasing form that all the ladies admire ….. a lot.

The problem seems to be that maple is struggling to keep the home from being repossessed by somebody that wants it badly and she has no idea why they are so desperately trying to take her home away or possibly kill her.

The story is good, the mystery, family setting with all the residents and the sometimes/on/off/etc romance keeps you wondering what is going on right up to the last pages.

Maple is getting stronger and more determined than ever that nobody is taking her home away and she will use any trick to keep it, unfortunately whoever it is that is trying to get it is equally determined and has no scruples about using anything including murder to get it.

The action is adequate, some small subplots and a story told interestingly enough to hold my interest during the slower scenes was a nice change (no scanning).

Bottom Line: Great PNR/UF mix which I enjoyed, the story moved along well and the characters were fleshed out well for this story. I give it 4.5 Stars and loved the ending, this seems to be a standalone book and sometimes you really like it that way.
Date Added: 06/23/2013 by Douglas Meeks

5*****Stars
Book: Maple Lane Manor Home for Retired Supernaturals
Release: July 31, 2013
Author: Cree Walker
Publisher: Naughty Nighty Press
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: Adult

“Twenty-eight year old Maple Lane has failed at everything she has tried. The last ten years of her life she went from college to college never obtaining a single degree. Every major she took ended with some kind of problem. Now she is left wondering what to do next until she discovers that her grandmother is dead and has left her Maple Lane Manor and all its occupants.

This is a wonderful book filled with romance, betrayal, lies, and suspense. It also has some amazing characters. What I liked most was that there were not so many characters that you lost track of who is who. If you love paranormal books than this one is perfect, it is paranormal with a healthy serving of humor.”
Reviewed by: Linda Tonis
Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Excerpt:

Derek had gone straight to his room, so I didn’t expect to see him again, but he was standing in his doorway as I tried sneaking passed.
“Is everyone tucked in?”
I clutched my chest with one hand and covered a scream with the other.
He gave me one of his crooked grins and gently pulled me into his room, closing the door quietly behind me. “You didn’t think I was going to let you off that easy, did you?”
“I was hoping.”
He cocked his head. “Were you, now?”
Sort of. I nodded emphatically.
He shook his head slowly as he closed the distance between us. “I’d have to be a dead man to allow you to get out of that dress without at least offering my assistance.” He leaned down and kissed me lightly.
“You’re gonna be a dead man if Walter finds out,” I said.
He grinned and slid a hand up my bare back beneath the silver chains. “I’m just helping you out.”
Of the dress, or other things?
“I have to go take a shower,” I said breathlessly.
“It’s the dry season, and your shower today must have taken close to an hour.” He leaned in again, and I felt him grin against my throat before he kissed me just above my collarbone.
He was an incubus. Of course he’d know about my special alone time in the shower. And as of late, that time was becoming embarrassingly frequent.
“I’m afraid if I don’t help you out tonight, we’ll run out of water by tomorrow.”
“Just to be clear, you’re not talking about the dress anymore, are you?”
“That’s part of it, yeah.”
“Are you sure? Maybe you just need a cookie or something.”
In response he put his forehead against mine and gripped my ass, pressing me against the door with his body. “I don’t think that’s going to cover it anymore.” His voice came out all husky and wanting, the way I’d always imagined it.
“I don’t think a shower’s going to do me much good, either.”
He chuckled. “I was hoping you’d say that.”

Contacts:
http://www.creewalker.wordpress.com
Creewalker@rocketmail.com
Or check me out on Facebook.com

2 Replies to “New Release: Maple Lane Manor – Home for Retired Supernaturals, by Cree Walker”

  1. LOL Fantastic way to end the post Ella. Had me cracking up. I love the idea of the paranormal retirement home. I haven’t heard of that before. Everything about the book intrigues me. ^_^

Leave a Reply

