2013 – Week 30 and I’m Feeling On Top of the World!

Hello and welcome, my dear friends, to newsletter number thirty.

This week has been one of the most uplifting in the last year or so.

I’ve had confirmation that my writing is worth something (or at least fans of Nick Hunter think so), added another author to my editing list (that makes two in two months) and discussed providing manuscript assessment services to another. Editing-wise I’m booked up till about mid-October.

My back cover blurbs have been commended, and I’ve uploaded my books on another site for advertising purposes (it’s free and legit, so why not?) – here, in case you’re interested.

Excuse the photo - it's the best Public Domain illustration I could find
Excuse the photo – it’s the best Public Domain illustration I could find

And best of all, I’ve finally found some time to tidy up my blog – still doing that one, page by page. The Hunter Series page looks ever so pretty now, and the Home page, too. Look on the right. You’ll find my books on the side bar and if you click them, the links will take you to Amazon.

Lower down, I’ve added progress bars for my work-in-progress projects, and let me tell you that was no easy feat! Turns out that WordPress.com doesn’t allow a lot of ready-made script, and though I did take a year course in programming back in uni, I’m embarrassed to tell you how many years ago that was! Yes, I understand html, and that was the saving grace. I took a few different scripts and tweaked them until I got what I wanted. Look, look! See how pretty it looks?

Ok, so that was a lot of new stuff for one week, and I’m proud of it.

I’ve also gone back to reading and reviewing – see the review for Cursed, book 3 of Witchwood Estate – and hosted authors. I’ve written articles and answered interview questions. Have you read Just One More Chapter, on Michelle Muckley’s blog? Amanda Keeney asked me clever questions here, and the next article is due out on Sarah Marie Cradit’s Blog tomorrow. It’s called The Curse of Style. Don’t worry, I’ll post a link as soon as it’s live.

I’ve also been planning the free authors’ resources I’ve promised you. There’s a lot of work going into those, mostly because I’ve been editing for long enough to become aware of the enormous range of writers and voices out there, and all their different needs. I’m trying to cater for all, and that is a near-impossible job. I’m not beat yet. It’ll just take a bit more thinking, and attention to detail.

Tomorrow I’ll be starting a new edit, and I’m really excited. I’ve skimmed through the first few pages, and the style is quite unusual, but catching. It’ll either be groundbreakingly-awesome, or… We’ll see. I’ll tell you more about it next week.

The rest of my time will be spent catching up with the books I should be reading (and I’ve ignored because of my own release) – The Unseen Promise and The Super Spies and the Pied Piper first, followed by the next 581 titles on my kindle. Yes, I’m sure I qualify as a book hoarder! But I can’t not get the books! Books are like air to me.

kindle hoarder

 

One more thing before I go – please, if you can spare the time, could you post your reviews of Blood is Power on Amazon or Goodreads, or wherever you can. Much appreciated. 🙂

2 Replies to “2013 – Week 30 and I’m Feeling On Top of the World!”

Leave a Reply

