RSS

2013 – Week 18 and a New Release

05 May

Eternal series bannerWelcome to newsletter number 18. This is going to be a quick one. Yes, release day is almost upon us. Eternal Immortality, book two in the Eternal Series is due for release this coming Friday, the 10th! Yes, I’m nervous, but we’ve heard only good things from the beta readers so far. Last comments are expected in tomorrow, and then it’s off to the formatter. Whoop!

One more beta-read, reviews and editing filled my week, and my overheated brain kept coming up with twists for Blood is Power. I’ve had 25 votes on the poll about my next project – please could I have your vote if you haven’t already voted? At the moment, sci-fi is winning. Here’s the link.

~~~

And now, your sweetie. A short excerpt from Eternal Immortality.

~~~

Déus was kneeling on the floor of what looked to be a very large church. He had placed himself below a large crucifix with the wooden image of Jesus nailed to it. Ariana put her hand over her mouth as she walked to him. He must be asking for forgiveness before he dies.

“Déus?” She said his name quietly, but his head shot up and he looked at her. His eyes were red-rimmed and glossy, as if he’d been crying.

“You’ve been trying to heal me, haven’t you?” he asked as he stood.

She nodded. “I need you to wake up and take Rainey’s vein for me. Can you do that?”

He shook his head slowly. “My life is over, Ariana, but do me a favor, will you? Will you tell Rainey that I love her, and I’m sorry I hurt her? Will you do that for me, please?” As he spoke, a tear rolled down his cheek.

Ariana was so incensed, she stomped her foot. He was giving up the fight without even trying! After all the effort the rest of them had put in to save him! “I most certainly will not, Déus. I told you that I was not going to fix your problem the next time, and I meant it. You wake up and tell her yourself. And take her vein, because you need blood. That’s the only thing wrong with you. I already healed all your burns.”

“After how I treated her, I don’t deserve her.” His bottom lip quivered.

“Why don’t you let her be the judge of that?”

He grimaced. “I’m sorry. I can’t bear to hear her tell me that she doesn’t love me. Anyway, I can’t wake up and see her with that other guy. I’d rather die.” He pointed as he looked at the cross. “That’s what me and Jesus here were just discussing. He kind of had the same idea you do, about telling her, you know, but he said that there is a place for me in heaven if I’m ready to come home.”

“I’m not letting you die, Déus! If it kills me, trying to save you, I will not let you die. What then? You will be alive, I will be dead and then Abe will kill you anyway ‘cause you wouldn’t cooperate with me, and after that he will kill Rainey, because in his mind it’s all her fault you decided to pull this stupid stunt in the first place–”

“It’s not her fault. It was my choice!”

“You think Abe sees it that way?” She put her fists on her hips. “I am going to be so mad at you if my good friend dies because of your cowardice, Déus. You don’t want to feel the pain of rejection? What about her feelings? If you love her, you need to tell her. It’s the least you owe her! Coward!”

Déus dropped his head. “You’re right, I am, and Rainey doesn’t need a coward in her life.”

“Then change, you asshole, change for her!” she shouted. “You will probably have to put a lot of effort into it, but that’s what love is. It isn’t easy. It’s hard work and compromise. I’m sure you will have to do a lot of making up to her, and you’ll have to prove that you really want to change for her sake, and that you love her, but that’s part of it, too. You want to know love? Wake up and look at how she’s bawling her eyes out over you, trying to get you to wake up. Wake up!” Ariana screamed with frustration.

Déus put his hands over his ears. “Christ! Okay. Okay, I will. Just chill out before you pop a vein.” He stared at her a moment, deep in thought. “I do want you to know one thing: this won’t be the last time I stand in the sun if I can’t make Rainey love me again.”

Ariana exhaled in frustration. Men! Stubbornness must be a fundamental component of the Y chromosome! She fought to control her emotions. “As long as you’ll honestly give it a try, I won’t stop you next time.”

Déus nodded. “I will do anything and everything in my power to win her love. Oh… since I’m waking up and all, you don’t have to tell her what I asked you to tell her. I’d like to do it myself, okay?”

Ariana sighed. “Of course, Déus. Your logic astounds me!”

He disappeared and Ariana smiled as she willed herself back to her own mind.

~~~

Remember: May 10.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2013 in News, Sunday Feature

 

Tags:

7 responses to “2013 – Week 18 and a New Release

  1. sherryfundin

    May 5, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Awesome. I just finished Eternal Island. I’ll be in touch. I love the excerpt. I find it so easy to relate to Ariana and her snarky attitude. ^_^

     
    • ellamedler

      May 5, 2013 at 8:59 pm

      It’s awesome, all right, Sherry! 🙂

       
  2. Kristie Haigwood (@Kshaigwood)

    May 5, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Squeeee!!! Love this scene! ❤ Relax, Ella, they will love it.

     
    • ellamedler

      May 5, 2013 at 8:59 pm

      You keep saying that, but I worry! 😦

       
  3. Carrie Rubin

    May 5, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    I’m convinced you are in perpetual motion, Ella. Do you ever get dizzy? 😉

    Love the excerpt!

     
    • ellamedler

      May 5, 2013 at 8:58 pm

      Never seen straight yet, Carrie!

       
  4. fuonlyknew

    May 7, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    I can picture this. When told to straighten up and fly right, you did loops!! lol
    Lovin the excerpt and I am so ready to read!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
