RSS

Author Spotlight – Virginia Nelson

29 Apr

meVirginia Nelson is well-established author with many titles to her name. Book two in her paranormal series, Sekhmet’s Guardians, is releasing on May, 1. Here, she tells us more about Eternal Nights, and in particular Raphael. Be sure to check out book one, Eternal Lovers, too.

~

Book one in the series: Eternal Lovers

cover Med

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Description: Ancient Legends – New Worlds

Humans weren’t the only ones to migrate to America…

When two hidden worlds collide near modern day Lake Michigan, Jennifer, a young Native American, is confronted with the reality not everything is as it seems and things do go bump in the night. The questions she has long since asked are answered in this epic tale of self discovery when she meets Gabriel; the director of Guardians Incorporated.
Born in New Tuat, Netchkhet, now known as Gabriel, came to Earth some five thousand years ago to protect the human race, Disillusioned because of an unfulfilled prophecy, he has become cold and distant – even from those of his kind. Secretly, he waits for his enemy to take his head so he may leave this world for good.
Can a tiny Selkie melt his hardened heart and restore his faith in a power far greater than himself? When history repeats itself, can he save her from death’s embrace or will they be robbed of a future again?

~

Book two: Eternal Nights

Front Cover Sample - Eternal Nights - small

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Description: Second volume in the series. Raphael discovers he is not crazy after all. The voices he hears belong to Jessica, Jennifer’s sister. With each passing day Jessica’s consciousness grew stronger. For twenty years she was content to remain as she was—trapped inside another. The life she led came to an abrupt end the moment she laid eyes on Raphael. At first she suspected they were destined to be together–his gentle touch confirmed it. Although he didn’t know it, he ignited waves of a fiery passion that burned deep into her soul. It became brighter every day, giving her the strength she needed. Somehow she would find a way to free herself from her grandmother’s powerful magic.

~

Martin Amondren as RaphaelInterview with Raphael. Virginia, over to you.

I’m happy to have with me today, Raphael, one of the original travelers from Tuat, led by Sekhmet, herself when she felt Earth was in danger.

After all these years, Raphael, why are you still here?

To be honest, because your Earth is still not safe. Set’s Legions multiply like locust and until they are completely destroyed we will be here to protect your kind. 

Oh, Ok then… I understand you are the star of V.S. Nelson’s latest book, Eternal Nights. How do you feel about that?

I don’t think of myself as a star but the book does highlight my quest for true love. You see, there comes a time in every man’s life where he no longer is content to be alone. In fact, shortly after our leader Gabriel and Jennifer took off on their honeymoon, I began to think I was going a bit bonkers. Crazy is probably the best word to describe my actions. Every night while I slept I was visited by this young beauty who I began to believe was some sort of angel. She sure looked like one. Anyway, it wasn’t too long after that I started to have conversations with Jennifer’s wolf, Nowaki, who she had left in my care while the two love birds traveled around the countryside. I some how managed to convenience myself that I inadvertently inherited one of Jennifer’s Selkie traits. She has a unique ability to talk to animals. So anyway, to make a long story short I was trying to justify what I was doing and feeling using Jennifer as an escape goat. 

(Raphael smiles as if he is amused at himself. I encourage him to continue with a wave of my hand.)

Thankfully it turned out I wasn’t crazy after all. The image of the young woman I was seeing was in reality Jennifer’s sister. I’m not going to tell you all the details here and spoil the book for you but I can tell you, Jessica, Jennifer’s sister and I are now one. How we got there is an amazing tale – one I’m sure will capture your heart and interest.

Hum, Selkies, Immortal Warriors and wolves… Sounds like there is a lot in Nelson’s books.

Oh there is and that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Gabriel, our leader had this idea that it was time for the human race to know about us and why we are here. After studying different writers across the world he located V in Egypt, where she was teaching school to a bunch of youngsters. He pestered the dickens out of her, right up until she retired. She eventually decided to listen to him and wrote out most of his story—right up until he told her what we really are. That kind of blew her away for a while but eventually she came to grips with everything and finished the first book in the series, Eternal Lovers.

Wait a minute. What do you mean, what you are? Aren’t you an alien?

Oh yes, but there is one little secret we have kept to ourselves, one we are not so proud of. You see in order for Sekhmet to grant us immorality she had to altar our DNA. We also require human blood to remain here on Earth.

Raphael smiles wide and I catch a glimmer of his canine sparkling in the florescent light.

Wait a minute… You’re telling me you’re a vampire? Now I know your pulling my leg, it’s daylight outside for Heaven’s sake.

Right on both accounts… Unlike your Hollywood version of the vampire, we have no problem being out in daylight hours nor do we lurk around at night preying on unsuspecting victims. Remember, we are here to save your world.  We eat and drink just like everyone else. Most of us, those that live among your kind, also work for a living. The blood we require that binds us to your world is obtained by the many blood banks Guardian’s Incorporated owns and operates. We save all that negative stuff for Hollywood and for Set’s Legions who have no regard for life here on Earth.

So Set’s Legions still exist?

Oh yeah, that’s what I said back in the beginning of this interview. They are still here and preying on the innocent. But don’t you go fretting none.

(He hands me a Guardians incorporated business card)

Should you come across one, just dial this number and one of us, if not more will be there to save the day.

All this vampire stuff is really making me nervous, can we talk about the book some more?

I have a better idea, why don’t I read a portion of Eternal Nights to you. 

Raphael pulls out an ARC copy of Eternal Nights, flips to a flag page and begins to read.

Gabe and Jennifer watched Michael take Raphael’s vitals from just inside the doorway to the infirmary room. Michael blocked Raphael’s path when he tried to swing his legs off the bed and stand.

“I’m fine and ready to get the hell out of here,” Raphael said, pushing Michael out of the way.

 “I’m sure you are, but I would be much happier if you would spend one more night in here under observation. Eight more hours isn’t going to kill you.”

“Well yeah, but I’ve got things to do. I need to go feed the horses and Candy…”

Raphael tried again to stand but was pushed back on the bed by Michael.

“All taken care of my brother… now lay your ass back in that bed before I give you a shot and knock you out again. You’ve got company so quit acting like a horse’s ass.”

Raphael leaned around Michael’s large frame and saw them standing just inside the door. He flopped back down on the pillow and let out an exasperated sigh.

Michael said something to the effect that he was all theirs then made like a ghost, disappearing down the hall.

“Good to see you’re awake. You gave us quite the scare, ya know?

Raphael rubbed his forehead before answering him.

“Yeah, well, it wasn’t my intention.”

“So you want to tell me what the hell you were doing out in those woods?”

“I just needed some space. I use to go hunting near there and thought the fresh air would do me and Nowaki some good, so I took her for a run. I forgot it was hunting season. God, Nowaki… you found her…she’s alright, right?”

 “Yeah, we did. Nowaki will be fine. She was lying with you when we got to the scene. Michael called in the vet and he took care of her while Michael was operating on you.”

“Wait a minute… she was hurt?”

“Guess you don’t remember much, do you?”

Raphael reached up and finger combed his hair out of his face, and then felt his five o’clock shadow while rubbing the sides of his face.

“Not that much. Guess I’m still a bit fuzzy from all those drugs Michael gave me. I remember… we were taking a break at the creek. Nowaki was drinking then something spooked her. … I felt a little burn in my chest, looked down and saw the blood. I’m not even sure if I heard the gunshot before I blacked out.”

He reached up and rubbed his eyes with the palms of his hands.

Jennifer sat down in one of the chairs in the room. He plopped down on the side of the bed.

“Christ, did a hunter mistake me for a deer or something?”

“No it wasn’t a hunter.

“Wait a minute… What happened to the woman?”

“Raphael, you have been jabbering about some female for two days. We found no sign of a female or anyone else in the area, well other than the guy who shot you. You must have hit your head or something when you went down… Did Michael check your head for injuries?”

“Fuck, if I know what he did. I’ve been kind of out of it, remember? You sure there wasn’t a lady out there? Man, I remember her more than I remember being shot.”

“Must have been one hell of a dream, the way you’ve gone on about her. Michael had to knock you out in the helicopter because you kept insisting we go back and find her.”

“Sorry about that, but man, what a dream. I could still swear she was there… So how did you find me anyway?”

“When you didn’t report in, Lance worked his magic and zeroed in on you through a satellite feed. Jennifer, Michael, Thomas, Roger and I flew up to Duluth and caught a chopper out to your location. When we …”

“Wait a minute…You brought Jennifer along?”

Raphael’s head snapped over to look at Jennifer who was paying close attention to the conversation from her chair. She smiled up at Raphael nodding her head.

“Yeah, well, she was in the control room when Lance had your pretty mug up on the monitor. She took one look at you and Nowaki and there was no stopping her… So anyway, we took the chopper out to your location. Thomas and Michael found Nowaki lying across your chest. She was hurt pretty bad. Guess that wolf has a thing for you because she took out the vamp that shot you. Michael said if it wasn’t for Nowaki’s heavy weight lying on you, you might have bled completely out.”

“Shit, you sure she’s going to be alright? Jennifer, I’m really sorry. You know I would never intentionally …”

“Raphael, shut up! I know how much you love Nowaki. It’s not your fault. It was a freak accident.”

Raphael laid his head back and the pillow and nodded at Jennifer.

Gabe was amazed at the sudden change in Jennifer’s demeanor after she embraced her Selkie side. When he first met Jennifer, she was a bit on the reserved side; not quite shy but close enough. Some things seemed to intimidate her, including him. That was no longer the case. The woman he loved was a spit fire, hell bent on having her way and was afraid of nothing.

“You said it was a vamp that shot me?”

“Yeah, while we were working on you and Nowaki, Roger patrolled the area. He followed Nowaki’s blood trail and found him. He bled out from where she ripped his throat out. We took his body back to Duluth with us thinking maybe it was a hunting accident and the hunter just happened to be an immortal. Turned out none of your recruits recognized him.  He was identified later as a member of one of Set’s small units from Winnipeg who’d gone AWOL a week or so ago. Roger removed his head and turned the sucker into a pile of ash after he was identified earlier today.”

“How the hell did you find that out?”

“That’s another long story. While you were out on your little recruitment binge, Peter Armstrong called in. To make a long story short, he brought home with him a female and his most recent roommate, a member of Set’s Legion. I’ll catch you up to speed on that later. Anyway, the guy identified him. The female is staying here, so if you run into a strange blond, her name is Allison and she is a guest of the estate.”

Jennifer got up and walked over to the side of the bed.

“Raphael, tell me about the woman.”

“Jennifer, I don’t think we need to upset him again… he’s been through too much…”

“No, I need to hear about her, please.”

Jennifer gave him one of her famous, Shut up, I need to know looks.

He nodded at the two of them. He wasn’t sure why it was important to her but she evidently had something on her mind.

“It’s important, please, Raphael, tell me about her.”

Raphael blushed like a high school girl then admitted he dreamed about the young woman more than once. He didn’t go into the intimate details of his dreams but he could see his friend had it bad for her.

“The first time I saw her in person was in the woods when she appeared from out of nowhere and offered her wrist to me. The second time was when I woke and she was asleep on my chest. Guess from what you and Michael said, my sub-conscious mind was playing one hell of trick on me.”

Jennifer, without saying a word turned and started to walk out the door. Gabe picked up on Jennifer’s thoughts immediately. He stopped her from leaving the room by placing his massive palm on her arm.

“Are you thinking what I think your thinking?”

She nodded, “I’ll be right back.”

Standing on her tip toes, she kissed him on the cheek, left the room and went next door. He didn’t hesitate to follow her.

“Jennifer, please don’t.”

The circumstances were much different now than they were when Jennifer jumped ship some months back but the fear of losing her again overrode his reasoning abilities.

“Honey, it’s ok. She’s right here. It’s not like it was before. I’m in control.”

“Yeah, but what if something goes wrong? She’s out cold, drugged. I just can’t bear to go through that again. If something were to happen…”

It had only been a few months since Jennifer placed her essence inside Nowaki after being attacked by a breed in a Hollywood hotel. He flew her back to the compound in Illinois thinking she was in shock. In doing so, he almost lost her until her father informed them what she was and her life force and body were too far away from one another for her to return to her own body. He still carried the guilt that in his attempt to help her, he damn near killed her.

She took hold of his arm and tried to comfort him. He wrapped his arms around her and held her as tight as he dared.

“OK, OK, I promise I won’t go anywhere. But there might be another way.”

***

Raphael must have felt a vibration in his pocket. He pulls out his cell phone and looks at it.

Sorry, duty calls, we got a report, a small group of Set’s Legions has been spotted near here. Ella, I can’t thank you enough for allowing me the privilege to be with you here today.

And with that, he stands and leaves.

~

If you would like to pick up a copy of V.S.Nelson’s Eternal Nights or any of her books you can do so by visiting her author page on Amazon.

You can also find her all over cyberspace at the following locations.

Book Trailer Amazon Website Blog Twitter Goodreads Facebook   Authorsdb

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Author Interviews, Guest Posts

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Author Spotlight – Virginia Nelson

  1. V.S.Nelson

    April 29, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Ella, thank you so much for hosting Raphael and I today!

     
    • ellamedler

      April 29, 2013 at 5:41 pm

      My pleasure, Virginia. Love Raphael already. 🙂

       
  2. Noemi

    April 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Been waiting to read Raphael’s story! I really liked him from the first book. Great interview.

     
    • ellamedler

      April 30, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Hi, Noemi. If he’s anything like that picture, he’s definitely worth the time! 🙂

       
  3. Emma

    April 29, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    This book has been on my TBR list since I saw it on Sandra’s blog over at SS Book Fanatics.

     
    • ellamedler

      April 30, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Looks a darned good story, doesn’t it? 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
