2013 – Week 15 and Growing Pains

Hello and welcome to newsletter number 15. I’m so pleased I made it! For a while there, I didn’t think I was ever going to get rid of that cold.

So, let me tell you what’s been happening.

Writing is going very well indeed. I am pleased with the progress, and I’m sure you’ll love the next lot of adventures taking place on Eternal Island.

Editing – making some progress, though I haven’t been able to completely catch up yet.

Reading and reviews are progressing well, as are Author Spotlights – look out for some real treats this week!

mazeAnd now we come to what occupied my every spare thought this week, an old idea, but new in so many ways – was I looking at this writing business through rose-tinted glasses? Were old societal prejudices and misguided expectations holding me back? Was I turning corners I didn’t need to turn and walking miles down paths that were unnecessary?

A lot of soul-searching went into this, and a lot of cold, hard business decisions had to be made. I looked at what I’ve achieved so far and realised it’s more than first meets the eye. Once I stopped kicking myself for minor things, I could see more clearly what was slowing me down.

I also looked at what I want to achieve, and know it’s not going to be easy. So I had a talk with myself, and decided to grow up. I’m not going to allow myself to be sidetracked, and I won’t play by the rules anymore. I don’t want to spend my life lost in the maze today’s Publishing Industry has become. I’ll aim straight! My focus is more unmovable than tensile steel, when I need it to be. All I have to do is keep that goal in mind, keep to a straight line and not give up. Talk to me a year from now and I’ll tell you how I’ve done.

Ok, so that was a bit intense. Let me lighten your evening up with the work of a genius whom I admire greatly: Joe Konrath. I saw this article and it made me laugh. I think you’ll enjoy his style, his wisdom and sense of humour, too. Did I mention I admire this author? Yeah, no-nonsense man. An inspiration.

A Newbie\’s Guide to Publishing: Obsolete Anonymous.

2 Replies to “2013 – Week 15 and Growing Pains”

  1. I’m intrigued by your statements and curious about the changes you plan to make. I too have done some soul searching of late. The goal is still the same, though the time frame may have changed. Keep us posted, won’t you?

Leave a Reply

