RSS

Review: The Seneca Scourge, by Carrie Rubin

01 Apr

the seneca scourgeUS: http://www.amazon.com/The-Seneca-Scourge-ebook/dp/B009BJ3BZ2

UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Seneca-Scourge-ebook/dp/B009BJ3BZ2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364838691&sr=8-1

A medical thriller, this is a very good début novel which stopped me from getting on with my life because I simply had to know what happened next. 

The title tells it to us straight. We know exactly what the storyline is likely to be with such an introduction. In itself, the title is a very good hook, as far as I’m concerned.

I’ve always been a sucker for a nice pandemic with apocalyptic potential, and for the first half of the book, that is exactly what we get. Then, about half-way through, the storyline explodes. If you haven’t taken a break so far, forget it! You’ve missed your chance.

I liked the originality of the conclusion – in fact, I loved it. I would have happily joined the main characters, if that were possible. The descriptions were easy to follow, including the medical terms which are sufficiently well explained for us, non-medical folk. I read this book in bed, at night, with a sore throat, and that made it all the more real for me. You’ll be surprised how quickly I left my measly cold behind, how eagerly I went back to work as soon as I finished reading! The psychology certainly worked on me!

The characters are very well-developed. I loved Sydney and her strength in dealing with one disaster after another. I loved the way she dealt with mysterious doctor Casper Jones, too. And I loved Casper for the choices he made… eventually.

All in all, this was an excellent book which I read in less than 24 hours, with a break for a bit of uneasy sleep. I can’t see how it could have been improved upon. It was all I had expected, and then more. Well done, Carrie Rubin. Five stars for a thoroughly enjoyable read.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2013 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Review: The Seneca Scourge, by Carrie Rubin

  1. Carrie Rubin

    April 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Wow, Ella, thank you so much! What a nice treat to find in my inbox. I’m so glad you enjoyed the book. Thank you for a lovely review. And I’m glad your sore throat is better now and didn’t leave you with ‘soupy’ lungs…

     
  2. aspiringlily

    April 1, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Ooh! From your review this is one I must take a look at!!

     
    • ellamedler

      April 1, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      Only if want to stay awake. You don’t have a cold, do you? Just checking… 😉

       
  3. fuonlyknew

    April 6, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    I’ll add this to my TBR. I read another medical thriller based on true events and I’m in the mood for another.

     

Leave a Reply

 
