RSS

Goodbye, Goodreads!

29 Mar

I wasn’t going to post anything today – a break is good, now and then, even when blogging, but I just cannot help wondering what’s next.
I went to Goodreads whenever I wanted an unbiased opinion. Now, that luxury is gone. How long until Amazon decides which reviews to allow and which not – again? What about their own agenda? The pushy selling tactics?
That aside, as a reader, reviewer and author, I can’t help but feel sad. My background in business allows me to understand the need for mergers and acquisitions, the finer machinations of large companies and the futility of trying to control a powerful player in any market. I just hope my concerns will prove to be unfounded.
In the meantime, I’ll be searching for other book recommendation sites. Any good ones you could recommend?

sad emoticon public domain

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Just A Thought

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Goodbye, Goodreads!

  1. Emma

    March 29, 2013 at 11:17 am

    I don’t know any others.
    Goodread is my go-to one.

     
    • ellamedler

      March 29, 2013 at 11:24 am

      I’ve heard of LibraryThing, but apparently Amazon owns 40% of that one, too. Hey-ho!

       
  2. J.D.Hughes

    March 29, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    Goodreads will be a great source of data for Amazon so I don’t think they will kill the goose. Before you jump ship, Ella, why not wait and see. It may not be as bad as you think. If it is, other reader/author sites will spring up to fill the gap.

    There’s a good post on this here: http://davidgaughran.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/why-amazons-purchase-of-goodreads-is-a-good-thing/?replytocom=18265

     
    • ellamedler

      March 29, 2013 at 12:40 pm

      Thank you, J.D.
      If ever I had a bad habit, it’s the ‘sit back and watch’ one! I will do just that. I’m still here. Thanks for the link. šŸ™‚

       
  3. Kristie Haigwood (@Kshaigwood)

    March 29, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I am seriously disturbed by this. Amazon won’t let family and friends post reviews. How do they think people get noticed? One doesn’t just become popular overnight. Success has to have a domino effect. Amazon sucks!

     
    • Kristie Haigwood (@Kshaigwood)

      March 29, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      I say we all start our own site. An Indie site for reviews. Wish I was smart enough to do it. There is smashwords, but not everyone is on smashwords, and you have to purchase the book with them before reviewing. Grrr…

       
  4. Russel Ray Photos

    March 31, 2013 at 7:41 am

    “Logan’s Run” is probably less than a decade or two away. I hope to be around long enough to see whether everything is owned by Google, Facebook, or Apple.

     
    • ellamedler

      March 31, 2013 at 7:46 am

      That’ll be a war to watch! And document for future generations…

       
  5. Sherry

    March 31, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    I’m skeptical. All too often a large company will do whatever they want, even at the risk of losing the people who helped get them there. I will wait and see, but still keep my eyes open and be on the lookout for other options. Unfortunately, I believe greed rules.

     
  6. fuonlyknew

    March 31, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    I don’t know what will change. Goodreads had such a feeling of freedom of speech. Now, I’ll feel like my every word will be scrutinized. I hope my fears are ungrounded. Just have to wait and see. Maybe it won’t change much, but I’ll be on the lookout for new sites.

     
    • ellamedler

      March 31, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      We could always do what Kristie suggested and start our own. I’m sure it won’t be easy, but… why not?

       

Leave a Reply

 
