RSS

Author Spotlight: Charlotte Howard

28 Mar

charlotte howard

Hello and welcome, my friends.

In the spotlight today is Charlotte Howard, author of Seven Dirty Words. Please make her feel welcome. I’ve heard a lot of good things about her writing.

Born in Oman, Charlotte moved to the UK in 1989, settling in Somerset in 2008. She lives with her husband, two children, and growing menagerie of pets, and works as a make-up artist and a freelance writer. She loves learning new skills and keeping fit, always looking for ways to keep her brain and body active. Her career as a writer started at an early age when she began writing poetry, short stories, and flash fiction. “Seven Dirty Words” is her first published full-length novel.

~~~

Let’s have a look at Seven Dirty Words now – there’s a description, readers’ opinions and a taster. Once we’ve done that, we’ll ask Charlotte ten quick-fire questions, so we can get to know her better.

7 dirty words

SEVEN DIRTY WORDS

US: http://www.amazon.com/Seven-Dirty-Words-ebook/dp/B00B53VOI8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1364399345&sr=8-2&keywords=seven+dirty+words

UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seven-Dirty-Words-ebook/dp/B00B53VOI8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364399396&sr=8-1

Description:

Paige Holmes hides herself in a masculine world in a desperate attempt to remain safe. Just as she is ready to face her fears and her past, she finds herself torn between Matt Jackson and Vance Ellery: handsome, rich, and safe – or handsome, rich, and dangerous? Which will she choose? The one who appears to be the most perfect, or the one who makes her use all Seven Dirty Words?

~~~

This is what readers thought about Seven Dirty Words:

“I couldn’t put this book down! I had to make myself go to asleep and finish it this morning! I had to find out who Paige would choose or if she decided to choose either Tall,Dark and Smoldering Hunk of Burning Love! Paige is a emotionally and physically wounded 27 yr old who is trying to pick up the pieces of her life after a horrible life altering experience. I really enjoyed the British terms and I had to keep reminding myself that “pants” mean “underwear or panties” not pants in the American sense ie jeans, trousers etc. I am anxiously awaiting the sequel “Four Letter Words” so I can see where Paige’s journey takes her. Charlotte Howard you are A Wonderfully, Talented Writer and I will gladly read anything you write!”
*
“Just finished the book and I thought it was very entertaining and enjoyed it. Paige has a disturbing hidden secret, which is about to be found out, and in turn lures her to self destruction or her salvation. Makes you think what would you do if you were in her shoes. Would definitely recommend this book.”
*
“Charlotte Howard weaves a down-to-earth story about Paige Holmes, a young woman who survived trauma and now must choose between two men: the safe one, or the one who provides danger and excitement. Howard shows us the internal dialogue and daily life of her protagonist, but moves the story along to its surprising conclusion.

This novel is definitely one worth reading!”  – Robin Tidwell, Publisher

~~~

Extract from Chapter Ten

I tried to relax, I tried to enjoy the event, but I couldn’t.  My mind was racing, each thought hurting more than any bruise.  What had he meant when he’d said he knows of me?  Everything that had happened had been buried by my father.  I didn’t want to think about it.  I’d spent a year fighting those unwelcome thoughts.  Twelve months, three weeks and one day to be precise.

Danny whisked me into a swaying waltz as the string quartet played something classical, although there is no point in asking me to name the tune.  A tap on his shoulder stopped us.  “May I?”  TDS stood holding a hand out.  Danny looked at me, his gaze searching mine for permission to put him on his backside.  I shrugged and took the hand of TDS.

“Your friend doesn’t like me.”

“He’s protective, that’s all.  He sees me as his little sister.”

“We didn’t get to finish our conversation.”

“There’s nothing to be finished.”  He twirled me around, and the satin rose up my thighs revealing a small purple line.  I reached down to cover it.  “I’m not working for you.”  I looked up and caught his glance resting on the hem of my dress.

“Is there any part of you that hasn’t been beaten recently?”

“My knee is working perfectly fine, as you’ll soon find out if you don’t move that hand off my arse.”

His hand slipped up again to find the nodules of my spine.  Looking around his arms, I saw Mr Jackson chatting to my mother.  He was stood by an older gentleman I presumed to be his father.  They were happily laughing, and I found myself wanting to be in on their little joke.

“I wish you would reconsider.  I would like to see more of you.”

I raised a painful eyebrow at his underlying suggestion.

“Keep wishing.”  I stepped back as the music finished, and let my heels click across the makeshift dance floor, heading towards my mother and her guests. ”

~~~

10 Quick-Fire Questions with Charlotte Howard

*

If you had one day left to live…

1) Which place on Earth would you visit?

St Lucia – it’s the one place I’ve always wanted to go, and is on my Bucket List.

2) Would you spend it alone or surrounded by your loved ones?

With my family – in particular, my children.

3) What would be your last read?

Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – one of my all-time favourite books!

4) What would be the last song you listened to?

Boom Shake The Room by Fresh Prince & Jazzy Jeff – a classic from my youth, and the song that started my obsession with Will Smith!

5) What would you grip tightly in your hand?

A shot glass of tequila – so many memories have been created using tequila!

And if you got a second chance to life…

6) What would be the first thing you did?

Write a book about my experience!

7) What would you change?

My tendency to apologise for absolutely everything.

8) In whose company would you spend your life?

My husband.  Or failing that, Will Smith.

9) What would be the first item you bought?

I’m guessing most people would buy a lottery ticket!

10) What would you dream of accomplishing?

Same as I do now – hitting the best seller’s list, and creating a better future for my children.

~~~

If you’d like to get in touch with Charlotte, you can find her here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in Author Interviews

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Author Spotlight: Charlotte Howard

  1. Charlotte Howard

    March 28, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Reblogged this on Charlotte Howard and commented:
    Thank you Ella!

     
    • ellamedler

      March 28, 2013 at 11:38 am

      My absolute pleasure, Charlotte. 🙂

       
  2. fuonlyknew

    March 31, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    Ella, you’re killing me. This sounds so good and I’ve added it to my must read list. I’m quitting my job now so I can read, read, read….. I Wish!! lol
    Happy Easter my friend:)

     
    • ellamedler

      March 31, 2013 at 7:25 pm

      Happy Easter, Laura. And get reading! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
