Review: Seven Point Eight, by Marie Harbon

seven point eight

UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seven-Point-Eight-Chronicle-ebook/dp/B005IBYKC0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364395781&sr=8-1

US: http://www.amazon.com/Seven-Point-Eight-Chronicle-ebook/dp/B005IBYKC0/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1364395838&sr=8-4&keywords=seven+point+eight

Seven Point Eight surprised me, confused me, and then opened my mind. I am so glad it found its way onto my kindle. A word of warning: this is not a quick read and if you’re after Hollywood style action, gore and car chases, you’ll have to look somewhere else. If you need a fast-paced book to take your mind off your train journey or simply don’t want to think, this book is not for you.

I’m finding it hard to categorise this novel, mostly because it wouldn’t easily fit anywhere. It has a strong sci-fi undercurrent, but the characters live and interact in a normal way, in what we would perceive as the real world. Having said that, there are paranormal, fantastical threads combined with a highly imaginative take on scientific experimentation. Honestly, at the beginning I thought the author must have come from a scientific background, because of the terms used, the concepts explained and the ease of twisting all these yarns into the story.

The beginning is slow, but persevere and you will find a huge amount of satisfaction. The main plot centres around the age-old wish for acquiring some proof about the existence of the human soul, but that soon transgresses into the realm of non-physical exploration. Yes, they are big words, but even bigger ideas.

Have you ever read a story and thought ‘that’s exactly what’s going through my mind, only I’ve never managed to put it into words before’? No, me neither. Until now. Seven Point Eight is the sort of book that will poke you into thinking, and not just ‘what’s for dinner’, but the sort of deep thought modern humans have forgotten how to do. Let me give you an example. On the subject of time, a human being is told ‘You require it to function in your world, because you require a limited view of reality to survive.’ Think about it. As human beings, we are limited — not because we cannot think wider, but because we won’t. We’ve created our own limitations. The concept of time, the concept of space… we’re even trying to define infinity.

I have taken so much out of this book, I won’t ever forget it. Marie Harbon has an intelligent voice and Seven Point Eight is a cleverly written book. Ok, so it could have done with a little editing, and the secondary plot never did meet the main, but this is just book one of a series. I certainly want to see where the story goes. I need this sort of enlightening read, because it reminds me to slow down and gives me the chance to grow.

An intellectual read, but one that is accessible to anyone willing to open their minds, Seven Point Eight is well-deserving of a five star rating. Now on to the sequel…

award ella~~~

Seven Point Eight took me by surprise. I don’t know what I expected, but it certainly wasn’t this. It touched me in the most profound way, and broadened my horizons.

For this reason, Marie Harbon receives the Life Changing Read Award and joins my Awesome Authors Gallery. Congratulations, Marie!

2 Replies to “Review: Seven Point Eight, by Marie Harbon”

  1. Wow! I’ve had this book for a while and been seeing it around lately! After your Award, I’ve now moved it up in my kindle and will get reading it soon!
    Thanks Ella!!
    Life got in the way and it will be a couple days before I email you the interview questions!! Still tweaking a few:)

Leave a Reply

