RSS

Happy Birthday to Me! Well… to my Blog!

13 Mar

I know! I’m excited. In the heat of editing and writing, the date escaped me. Good job WordPress, the dears, sent me a reminder. My blog is one year old today.

HB

In the last year, I’ve written 236 posts, which attracted 8754 views and 839 comments. The best months, with almost identical figures, were May and November last year. Easy to understand, as I released Blood is Heavier in May and, with Kristie Haigwood, Eternal Island on Halloween. The moral seems to be – release a book every month for optimum results! Yeah. Not going to happen.

I struggled to find my blogging voice to begin with, so… go ahead and laugh. I deserve it. Here’s what my first blog post ever looked like:

 

Paradox

*
A woman’s life

*

The most important thing to a woman is financial security.

Despite this being of paramount importance, so is acquiring expensive clothes.

Despite owning lots of expensive clothes, a woman never has something to wear.

Despite having nothing to wear, women always dress well.

Despite always dressing well, the clothes they wear are always ‘this old thing’.

Despite wearing ‘this old thing’, women expect their men to compliment them.

Despite the many compliments men make, women never believe them, unless they can also offer financial security.

*
A man’s life

*

Every man is busy.

Despite being busy, men always have time for women.

Despite having time for women, they’re ‘not that into them’.

Despite being ‘not that into them’, they always have a woman by their side.

Despite having a woman by their side, they often flirt with others.

Despite flirting with others, they get annoyed when a woman leaves them.

Despite getting annoyed when their woman leaves them, they don’t learn from their mistakes, they’re too busy.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Just A Thought

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me! Well… to my Blog!

  1. "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido

    March 13, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    LOVE YOU!!!! Emily

     
    • ellamedler

      March 13, 2013 at 8:06 pm

      Love you too, Emily! Mwah! xx

       
  2. Emma

    March 13, 2013 at 8:21 pm

    Happy BDay!

     
    • ellamedler

      March 13, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      Hi, Emma. Thank you! Mwah! xx

       
  3. Carrie Rubin

    March 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Congrats on the one year blog birthday! Love your first entry. Wish I could say the same about mine. 😉

     
    • ellamedler

      March 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm

      Thank you, Carrie. I’m sure it was funny. Your posts are so entertaining. Mwah! xx

       
  4. Sherry

    March 13, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    I think your first post is awesome. Congratulations on your blogoversary!!! Cheers to many more.

     
    • ellamedler

      March 13, 2013 at 9:33 pm

      Hi, Sherry. Thank you! I have no intention to stop now! Thank you for your support. Mwah! xx

       
  5. fuonlyknew

    March 14, 2013 at 1:52 am

    What a cool first post! Happy blog birthday! I’ll be here for more all year long!
    Wouldn’t want to miss out on your witty comments and teases:)

     
    • ellamedler

      March 14, 2013 at 7:09 am

      Laura, you are so nice to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Mwah! xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
