RSS

Awarded Again!

14 Jan

Gorgeous Emily, the Light-Bearer Series Novelist, has nominated me for the Shine On Award. The first award of this year could not have come from a sweeter person. Thank you, Emily. I am honoured.

shine-on-award

I have only known Emily for a few months, and I certainly haven’t been leaving footprints around her blog nearly enough times, but I can tell you she is a powerhouse. 2012 was a very productive year for her, and I expect 2013 will be even more so. I can’t wait to see what she does. Get to know her better – instead of rules, she’s posted a self-interview, so this task couldn’t be easier for me.

She calls every one of her nominees her ‘Angels’, and I didn’t want to contradict her. Yes, laugh if you like, but I’m not being called an ‘angel’ all that often. I’m hanging onto that title!

Since there are no rules, I’ll just tell you the three things that I most dislike and the three things I most like about myself instead. Feel free to laugh. I have a paper bag which I can don in case of extreme embarrassment, later on.

Things I don’t like (not that there’s much I can do about them!)

1. Stubbornness – it’s apparently a bad trait. I have been told I’m stubborn more times than I’ve heard my name spoken, and I do try to look at things from every angle before I dig in my heels, honestly, I do. It’s not a reaction, it’s a thought process. I can’t help it if I’m always right! 😉

2. Impulsiveness. Another one that’s been thrown in my face – mostly by life, but people, too, have batted that one at me as if it would win them the match. Nope, guys. I am impulsive because I feel strongly about a certain subject. It’s passion, a fire, a need that has to be addressed. Now, not later. Sue me!

3. Enthusiasm. I’ve been trying all my life to moderate this one. But how can you keep the way you feel hidden, without the use of tranquillizers and drama skills? I remember applying for a job, back in my youth, which entailed re-designing and implementing a complete remuneration scheme for a medium-sized company. I saw the boss-man at the interview and he spent a whole hour frowning. A week later I got a call from his secretary to explain they’d love to hire me and apologised for the delay caused by the boss, who said he’d been ‘scared’ of me. I thought there must have been a good reason for his gradual slipping farther behind his desk! Pity – I’d accepted another job by then. Could have been fun. 🙂

Things I do like and know how to use

1. Stubbornness – it may be frowned-upon by the older generation, but these days you need it. No matter how much the suffragettes fought for it, equality is a right you still have to earn – don’t get me started! You need to be stubborn, to be heard. And you need to be stubborn to make your life what you want it to be. Check.

2. Impulsiveness – despite some experiences I could have done without, it’s how I’ve lived my life so far, and I don’t see much will change in the future. I have learned to embrace impulsiveness and let it guide me – if it is born from a deep-soul desire, how could it be wrong?

3. Enthusiasm – it’s what keeps me writing, what makes me learn new things every day, what puts a smile on my face and changes the ‘ordinary’ into ‘best ever’ in everything I do. I love life, and I’m happy to show it. 🙂

I’m going to act on impulse (again) and challenge a few of my friends to tell us about the traits they love and hate about themselves. So, if you see your name below, know it’s not a must. Just a challenge. Go on. You know you want to.

I challenge you:

Karen

Steph

Emma

Carrie

Sherry

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Just A Thought

 

Tags:

15 responses to “Awarded Again!

  1. karensdifferentcorners

    January 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Hi Ella! Haha! I got this one from Emily too! I need to get it posted. Thank you! Love your post! I think I have those 3 traits also and they have gotten me into and out of trouble many times! LOL!

     
    • ellamedler

      January 14, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      Oh, no! How did I miss that? And yes, those three traits are both blessing and curse! 🙂

       
  2. Carrie Rubin

    January 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Thanks Ella! I appreciate the nod very much. We’ll have to see if I’ll be brave enough to do this. I like to give the illusion of revealing stuff about myself without actually revealing anything. 😉 But very clever and fun way to tweak an award!

     
    • ellamedler

      January 14, 2013 at 6:45 pm

      ‘I’ll be watching you’ – so the song goes! 😉

       
  3. "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido

    January 14, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! You deserve it and you certainly are an “Angel” to all of us!!! Lots of love, Emily

     
  4. Emma

    January 14, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    All the things you don’t really like are actually good things and it’s great that you realise that 🙂
    Thanks, Ella.

     
    • ellamedler

      January 14, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Yeeeees, and they’re getting me in trouble, too. 😉

       
  5. Sherry

    January 14, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks so much Ella. I am just finishing up the post for the other award you gave me, so I will include this one also. I always appreciate being acknowledged.

     
    • ellamedler

      January 14, 2013 at 7:02 pm

      Lovely. Does that mean you accept the challenge? 🙂

       
  6. Sherry

    January 14, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Hi Ella, I got this one from Emily too, so I included it in the same post as the Leibster. I always appreciate being noticed. About the challenge, I will use that one on her post that I am working on now. Yours took me quite a while to do and I hope you enjoy it.

    http://wp.me/p2uiv4-DN

     
    • ellamedler

      January 14, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      Brilliant! And you’re a stronger woman than I am. I wouldn’t be able to hide anything for five months. From anyone. 🙂

       
      • Sherry

        January 14, 2013 at 8:32 pm

        That was one of the hardest things I ever did. I so wanted to get one over on him. It was funny when he happened to look in the “flamingo” garden and saw a spaceship. Now I just have to find the little aliens. ^_^

         

Leave a Reply

 
