I received the Liebster Award!

Guess what? I’ve been nominated for a new award, for discovering new blogs: the Liebster! Thank you, Billy Ray Chitwood for the nomination.

Here’s more about the Liebster:

Liebster Award

And the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you. Well, of course. Thank you, Ray!

2. Post eleven random facts about yourself. Oh dear! I hate talking about myself.

3. You answer the eleven questions asked by the person who nominated you.

4. You think of a new set of eleven questions and nominate eleven others (hee, hee, now that’s fun!) to answer them.

~~~

So here are those pesky eleven random facts about me:

1. English is not my mother tongue;

2. I didn’t learn to ride my bike until my mother threatened to give it away. It took me a couple of hours and about a hundred bruises to learn once I figured she meant it;

3. Even as a kid I was a people-watcher. I used to give my toys to my friends and then watch to see what they were doing with them. I must have narrowly avoided becoming a deranged human behaviour researcher. Count yourselves lucky;

4. I can only remember things I understand. If they make sense, I soak them up. If not, they’re in one ear and out the other. One reason why I still struggle to understand cricket rules;

5. I set myself on fire once, while doing my homework by candle light. No scars – well, no physical ones anyway;

6. I also put out a house fire once (fortunately, I’d discovered it early). Then I sat down and started to cry for what could have been. I was only twelve;

7. I don’t see the point in eating cereal on purpose. Unless it’s flour, baked in a cake;

8. I worked as a spreadsheet expert for a National Health organisation for a while;

9. I hate routine;

10. I played guitar and sang in a band for two years, a long time ago. This year I’ve started learning to play the piano;

11. I used to skip the odd hour in highschool so I could go rowing in a boat on a lake ten minutes walk away from school. My mother still doesn’t know.

~~~

Billy Ray’s eleven questions:

1. Your favourite Actor and Actress. Hmm, considering I don’t watch movies or TV, this could be difficult. Robert Downey Jr. and Helena Bonham-Carter.

2. Your least liked chore. Dusting. Talk about waste of time!

3. Your favourite book genre. Any action/suspense would do fine. I’m not keen on slow plots or poetry.

4. Your favourite type of music. Easy-listening.

5. Your favourite movie. I just don’t watch movies, guys. Sorry. I enjoyed the Bourne series and the Sherlock Holmes films directed by Guy Ritchie – but I only watched them because the kids wanted to go.

6. Your least favourite movie. I know this one. Happy Feet – for over-the-top brainwashing and misinformation. And lowest of the low: aimed at children. Bad move. Those children have parents who own free-thinking brains.

7. Mayonnaise or Salad Dressing?Β Vinaigrette by my own fair hand.

8. Favourite beverage? Coffee.

9. Favourite meat? Lamb.

10. Favourite vegetable? If we could get over the fact that it’s really a fruit – tomato.

11. Your favourite author of all time. For his genius – Douglas Adams.

~~~

The questions for my nominees:

1. What did you last have for dinner?

2. If money were no object, would you fly to the moon?

3. What was your bravest act in the last 12 months?

4. I don’t expect you to remember the title or author, but what was the plot of the worst book you ever read?

5. What is the sport you wish you mastered to perfection?

6. Where would you go to spend your last day on Earth?

7. What is the most romantic gesture you ever came up with for your loved one?

8. If possible, in what century would you rather have lived? Or is this one just fine for you?

9. If you had the chance, what new genre would you like to introduce? Describe it, please.

10. What gadget couldn’t you live without and why?

11. What is the most infuriating thing about today’s world, in your view?

~~~

And my nominees are (it’s all right to take your time, but please play along – I really am curious):

fundinmental

fuonlyknew

churningcauldron

jdhughes

robertperry

emilyguido

emmameade

allanbard

bruceblake

theinnerwildkat

stephaniemedler

21 Replies to “I received the Liebster Award!”

  1. Wow! Congratulations Ella and thanks for sharing! No, I mean it, thanks!!! Just kiddin:) I’m going to have some fun with this, just like you did! Got to think of some good questions and some fun answers to yours. This will be cool.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours Ella!

    1. Fun is the name of the game. Comes right before ‘award’. πŸ˜€
      And Merry Christmas to you, too, Laura, though you won’t get rid of me this easily. ‘s a long time to Christmas yet!

    1. Emily! Wow! Thank you so much!
      I feel so bad for leaving you without a post for a whole week now! But it was in a good cause. I completed an amazing edit for an author I greatly admire (one of the three who received The Life Changing Read Award). His book will be out soon – I’ll post a review, of course.
      Coming over to see my pressie. Put the kettle on. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

