Review: I Hope You Find Me, by Trish Marie Dawson

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008CJQX0W/ref=tsm_1_fb_lk

 

I Hope You Find Me is a post-apocalyptic scenario. I love apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic books, and this one did not disappoint. Riley, the heroine, finds herself the only survivor in her family after a fast-acting virus claims all their lives. She moves from place to place, and in her wake she leaves notes, all ending in the same phrase – ‘I hope you find me’.

I won’t tell you any more plot lines, because this is a story you should be reading by yourselves. It is full of emotion, so don’t forget the Kleenex, but must of all it is full of strength and the stubborn resilience necessary to survive.

The main characters are well developed, each with their individual voices, problems and personalities. Secondary characters are just that – barely important enough to deserve attention, and keeping the plot uncluttered. I do hope we’ll have the chance to learn more about one of two of them in the sequel, which should be out in 2013.

The storyline is simple and easy to follow, with most of the adversities caused by human nature, rather than the consequences of the scourge. The plot is solid, and it does leave an opening for a sequel. I know I’m starting to repeat myself, but I can’t wait to read it.

With a good pace and easy-read style, this novel is a very enjoyable read. There is something for everyone in it – a fit of fun, a bit of flirting, good description, deep emotions, some hate and a good deal of love, too. A very good effort for a debut novel. I would not hesitate to read more by the same author. I Hope You Find Me gets five shiny gold stars from me.

6 Replies to “Review: I Hope You Find Me, by Trish Marie Dawson”

  1. I love the cover. Artwork is nearly always the first thing I look at in a book. Post-apocalyptic stories are up there with supernatural novels for me.

Leave a Reply

