RSS

Spotlight on Paradox – Part V. Featured Author: Patti Roberts

19 Jul

.

Over vast passages of time, the Grigori would be called many things. In
Greece they called them, Vrykolakas. In Romania, Strigoi.
In the new world they would go by another name. Vampire.
All-powerful Beings continue to fight a brutal war for supremacy – in
the ancient world, and in the new. The Fallen House of Grigori and the
Royal House of Bulguardi. The prize… Mortal Souls.
Spanning over centuries, this is a story about love, loss, and betrayal.
In the New World – Grace is a little girl struggling to understand the
catastrophic events that are forcing their way into her otherwise
seemingly normal, if not sometimes, strange world. Haunting visions and
untimely deaths of others are a constant reminder that life and death
are only a heartbeat away. Grace’s story will indeed leave you asking…
Who, When, Where? WHAT!
My name is Juliette. Nine hundred years ago, I died. Today, I am
alive… This is my story.

.

.

Over the last four weeks I have shown you a fascinating magical world created by Patti Roberts. You’ve had the chance to read excerpts from the first two (published) books The Angels Are Here and Progeny Of Innocence, and also Bound By Blood, the third book in the series, due out in October. And you’ve also seen how much effort Patti has put in making her world real.

Today, I’d like you to see other people’s opinions about this amazing story. Here are some of the comments you’ll find when you search for this series:

“I absolutely adored the first book of the Paradox series, The Angels Are Here, and naturally had to pick up the second one as soon as soon as it was available in the Amazon UK store. Progeny of Innocence was an even more amazing, wicked read than The Angels Are Here.”

“Patti Roberts has done it again. Progeny of Innocence sucked me in from the first page and kept me up late into the night to finish. I love the authors ability to blend the old with the new. I could really see this series becoming a movie or tv show it’s so engrossing. I am anxiously awaiting the next book.”

“I had read “Paradox-The Angels are Here” and looked forward to reading the second in the series and Progeny of Innocence did not disappoint. This book had such a captivating story woven intricately between the pages that this reader could not put down the story until its completion. I enjoyed the richness of the characters and all the facades of their personalities. The characters come alive and you can picture each and every one of them with the descriptions the author gives.All the questions I wondered about with the first book were answered.”

“Every time I read another book from Patti her imagination amazes me and the worlds and characters she has created are one of the most original stories I have had the privilege to read.”

“This book was so hard to put down, it was SO good. It was even better than the first. I found that it explained some things that were left unanswered in the first, and I loved how it went more into detail in the past. I’m SO excited to read her next one!”

 “Progeny of Innocence is wonderfully intricate book that blends fantasy, myth and legends into a truly magical tale.”
And they go on – review after review, readers’ opinions converge to one: this series is too mesmerising to be stopped here. Many of Patti’s fans would love it to become a TV series, and I agree with them. There is enough detail and enough research to support a string of episodes already and Patti hasn’t finished writing it yet!
If you’d like to know a little more about what it took to create such an amazingly complex, full world, have a look at these FAQs Patti has collated from various readers:

1. When did you first start writing, Paradox? And did the idea for the book just come to you?

 A: I started in 2009 so it took me roughly 2 years to put the first book (Novella) together.  It shouldn’t have taken that long but I was feeling sorry for myself and nursing a broken heart.  Heart all mended now:)  This also why Paradox – The Angels Are Here is a little EMO.

 I was inspired to write the series by what I didn’t know.  By the questions we as humans have asked ourselves since the beginning of time.  Where did we come from, what happens after we die?  Is there a heaven?  Do our souls live on?

2. Was there any research involved in writing the book especially when the times were in the very early centuries?

 A. I think I have spent just as much research for the Paradox series of books as I have spent writing the story.  Actually I know I have!  Although a lot of that will not actually be evident until further along in the series.  I love writing Grace’s flashbacks of Juliette’s past lives.  I love going back in time and delving into historical events that have shaped our world.  And hopefully bring some of them back to life throughout this story via the characters.

 3. Were any of your characters based on someone you know or the names of the characters?

 A: I do use some peoples names that I have met because they are special to me.  It is my way of having them around.  Hello Natalie, KaSondra, Ella, Jayde and Alex.

4. Was it at all difficult to write about such loss and heartache through out the book?

 A: Surprisingly, no.  I was going through an emotional stage of my life at the time and if anything it allowed me to really “feel” Grace’s loss and put it into words.  I really believe that I would never have been able to achieve that if I wasn’t in that “place” in my life and if I hadn’t gone through something like that myself.  I focused very much on the death of my own mother a few years ago; Mum was very much looking over my shoulder as I wrote it.

 5. As you were writing Paradox did you ever have writers block or did you already somewhat know what the story-line would be before you put the words on paper?

 A: I have never had writers block.  I have so many stories to tell that if anything sometimes I wonder where to start and where to leave off and cut to another scene.  Some people have said that Paradox – The Angels Are Here jumps around during the telling of the story.  And maybe it does.  That is how the story unfolded to me while I wrote it and how Juliette tells it – as she remembers it.

 When people are sitting around telling stories, I think that is how it happens.  Suddenly you remember something from the past, because of something someone else has said, and regardless to where the story is at; you jump in and add it because you know that further on into the story, it is going to be important.  It is very much Juliette’s story now.  I just have the pleasure in writing it.

6. What age groups do you recommend for the readers of Paradox?

 A:  I say 14 and up.  Some would say that some of the subject matters are for an older audience but I disagree.  It wasn’t that long a go in history that a 14 year old girl was old enough to wed and expected to bear children.  In some cultures today they are very much considered adults.   History has also shown us that in order to keep bloodlines “pure” it was nothing if not expected for brother and sister to produce an heir.  Thankfully, the society that most of us live in today does not applaud or encourage this way of life.

 7. I adore the cover [book 1], very beautiful. Who designed the cover and did you have any say in what you wanted it to look like?

A: Being an indie author I was very much solely responsible for the look of the cover.  I searched numerous sites until I found the artwork for book 1 by the very talented Hazel Brown.

 8. Do you have any future plans for Grace and her family & friends with another book?

 A:  The Paradox saga is a series of books.  The first book – The Angels Are Here – was an introductory into the series and is a Novella.  The second in the series – Progeny Of Innocence – is a novel and is due out in November.  The third – Bound By Blood – is due out in 2012 .  I would like to release a new book in the series every year.

9. What was the most difficult part writing the book? Do you have anything you wish you could go back and change?

 A: The only thing hard about writing in general is time.  If I could lock myself up and concentrate on only writing that would be great.  But my friends would think I had gone completely mad and would probably try and have me committed.

 10. Last but not least, did anyone inspire you to write Paradox “The Angels Are Here”?

 A:  Yes and no.  I had just recently gone through a break-up and was terribly “lost”.  I see now that the break-up was an incredible gift.  It handed me the opportunity to focus on other things which I would otherwise had never done.  And those other things turned out to be writing.  The break-up, unbeknown to me at the time, turned out to be my cloud with a silver lining.  Writing has been such wonderful therapy; I have never looked back and I have never been happier.

Katy Sozaeva says: That scene with the cat was brutal – I almost cried and spent the whole time clutching my cat to my chest! (Chapter 8 Kali & Bonga)

Q: Do you write full-time now? If so, what did you do before you started writing? 

A: I don’t write full time yet but would very much like to.   That is my wish.  I have to sell a lot more books though before that happens

Q: Where did you come up with the idea for the Paradox series? Were you inspired?  

A: I was inspired by what I didn’t know.  By the questions we as humans have asked ourselves since the beginning of time.  Where did we come from, is there more after death?  Is there a heaven?  Do our souls live on?

Q: Do you ever base your scenes on real-life?  

A: Some are loosely based on real-life.  For example Grace’s experience during the storm when she felt like her body was being taken over.  The emotion Grace and her mother felt following the death of….. Should I say?

Q: Considering the use of angels, how did you prevent religion from getting too involved with the story?  

A: I actually really like religious stories.  I don’t necessarily believe them.  I think a lot of the bible and religious scriptures in general is the work of a number of excellent fictional storytellers.  I bet they wish they were around today to receive the royalties.  (This is only my opinion and I do not wish to offend)

Q: Who is your favorite character?  

A: That is way too hard to answer.  I love writing for them all.  Some characters though, like Abaddon, Theria, Caleb, and Lyssa are more enjoyable to write for because they are evil and have such overinflated egos.  I also like the Four Ancients in book 3.

Q: Who is your least favorite character? Why?  

A: None – they all belong, all have their part to play.

Q: Are any of your characters based on real-life people?  

A: Not at all.  Some of the characters’ traits are though.

Q: I found the extent of your research incredible. Where did you look to come up with your ideas?   

A: Google, Wikipedia, Google…

Q: What is your writing process? How do you incorporate your research without making it sound like a textbook?  

A: That can be hard for me.  Sometimes I get so caught up in the facts.  I have to allow myself to step away from the facts at times and let myself bend them a little so they can become part of the fictional side of the story.  I am bent on using as much fact as I can in some instances.  Even down to the little things like making sure a characters name in Grace’s flashbacks are relevant to that period of time in history.  What the weather, clothing would have been like, what day of the week it would have been…  I think I do this because whenever I read a book, even a fiction book, I like to have learned something real that I didn’t know before.  For me it gives even the most diehard fantasy story more plausible.

Q: Do you plan to incorporate Abaddon, Siena, Theria, Pandora and Cerberus into the remaining series?  

A: Most certainly.  They are all main characters in the entire series along with a host of characters you are yet to meet.  A lot of book 2 (Progeny Of Innocence) is in Altair – where the Angels reside – including the surrounding areas and the ancient civilizations that reside there.  Lots of legend and myth in the following books.

Q: I was confused by the Angels. The Good vs. Evil. Do they all live somewhere in heaven or do all the evil ones live in hell? I don’t know much about Angel history.

A: In my book, Paradox – The Angel Are Here, I have the Angels living in Altair which is “heaven”.  And “heaven” has been overthrown.  I believe there is good and bad in everything, everywhere.   Are we good or are we evil?  We eat the flesh of animals.  Does that make us evil?  In some people’s eyes it most certainly does.

 Q: Will we see Grace grow to become a teenage girl and eventually a woman? If so, will you incorporate some relatively normal events in your books about this?

A: The Grace side of the story is the “normal” side of the story so to speak.  There are 2 sides of this story – 2 worlds.  In book 2, Progeny Of Innocence, Grace is a teenager.

Q: Is Joshua in the second book? Is he important?

A: Joshua is in the second book.  And yes, he does have an important roll to play.

Q: I have a feeling Abe is an important little boy, will we be seeing more of him?

 A: He is and you most certainly will!

Q: Does Grace have a love interest waiting for her somewhere in the near future?

 A: Oh yes – 2.

Q: Your book made me feel quite a lot of emotions. Do you become worn out from this while writing? Like does it take a lot out of you?

A: Some parts of it are more emotional that others most certainly.  And there is a particular part that made me cry when I was writing it.  I think, regardless of the topic, writers should write with emotion if they want their words to affect the reader.  Whether it be joy, fear or sadness.  Everything we do in our lives is driven by emotion.  Emotion plays a very BIG role in the Paradox series.  Sometimes I jump ahead a few chapters if I’m not in the right frame of mind to write a particular part of the story.

Q: How many hours a day do you spend writing or doing research for your work?

 A: I think I have done just as much research in particular aspects of the series in general as I have writing it.  There is a huge back story going on in the series that has to be taken into consideration.  I couldn’t tell you precise hours per day.  Some hours are spent on the pc, just as many are spent in my head, plotting planning thinking…..  It took me 2 years to put the first book (Novella) together.

This post concludes our wanderings through Paradox. Please leave your name and a way to be contacted in the comments box below this post if you would like to be entered in Patti’s competition (see video clip).

Thank you for staying with us so far and we hope to see you again.

Links to the books (via Patti’s Amazon page)

 
 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Spotlight on Paradox – Part V. Featured Author: Patti Roberts

  1. jannashay

    July 19, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Great interview ladies. Patti, your books sound fascinating. I’ll have to put them on my TBR list.
    Good luck with your career.

     
  2. Emma

    July 20, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    I was listening to the music from the trailer while reading this; it really set the tone.

     

Leave a Reply

 
