RSS

Writers and Writing – Take Five

15 Jul

Believe it or not – it’s sunny!

Yes, the three consecutive months of rain have actually rained themselves out. Today we’ve had sunshine. So, naturally, all lawn enthusiasts laboured over their mowers – the sound of hiccuping, spluttering motors filled the land for well over twelve hours. It’s finally quiet now, but it is 8 pm so I imagine, just like me, most people are lounging in the sunshine (still sunny, long may it last, fingers crossed) holding tight onto a tall glass filled with something cold and relaxing with a good book.

Relaxing makes me think about writing, and one thought leads to another.

The first two quotes made me wonder if I really know what I am doing to myself.

Writers are a little below the clowns and a little above the trained seals. (John Steinbeck)

Asking a writer what he thinks about criticism is like asking a lamppost what it feels about dogs. (John Osborne)

And this last one makes me feel so much better about my chosen trade. I don’t need much to write.

Inventing is a combination of brains and materials. The more brains you use, the less materials you need. (Charles F. Kettering)

image credit: clipart

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Just A Thought, Sunday Feature

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Writers and Writing – Take Five

  1. Ronald Dahle

    July 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    While you have been inundated with rain we are experiencing the exact opposite. It has been very hot and dry. Some areas are invoking water rationing.

    My attitude on criticism is the same as my attitude on life. If you don’t like what I’m doing don’t play with me! I just got a 4 star review on Grey Death. The writer said he served with me in Germany as a young soldier. Had little to say about the book. He failed to mention that I called him down for getting out of the army to avoid Vietnam. There are two sides to every coin.

     
  2. Carrie Rubin

    July 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    What great quotes. I think… 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
