RSS

Grammar – Commas and Tag Questions

18 Jun

Hello, sweet folk of the writing world.

Here’s today’s little tidbit (yes, it is the correct, UK spelling of the word – stop sniggering!).

Stopped laughing? Good. Let’s sort something out. Tag questions are those we ‘attach’ to the end of sentences, such as, for example: ‘isn’t it?’

The rule I want you all to remember is that commas are always used after a statement which is followed by a tag question.

Here are a couple of examples:

Lovely weather for sunbathing today, isn’t it?

You’re really proud you remembered that one, aren’t you?

You’ll come and look at next week’s quick grammar post, won’t you?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Just A Thought

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Grammar – Commas and Tag Questions

  1. Emma

    June 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    My editor told me I suffer from a “comma deficiency”. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. ellamedler

    June 20, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Ha, ha. As an editor, that’s the author I love best! It’s a lot easier to correct missing commas, than to remove six so you can understand what the author meant to say in that sentence. With these little gems I write every Monday, I am really aiming at making my own job easier. If only the authors I edit would read these bite-size pieces of advice… Comma deficiency is preferable, believe me. ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
