RSS

The Ideal Human Being – What Gets Your Vote?

09 Jun

Hello, mes amis. I was having a chat with a few of my friends the other day, and found myself commenting on the characters in my novels. What they are capable of, how they think, what they would do and say… you get the gist. Anyway, what got me thinking after that conversation was not the characters, for once. Not even my friends – sorry to let you down, guys. What worried me most of all was the fact that all of my characters are flawed. They are all imperfect people.

So, the logical progression – in my mind – was then the question: why do I NOT create perfect human beings? And what would make a perfect human being anyway? I could ask a million people and we probably wouldn’t agree. But I am prepared to accept a majority vote.

So, please help me decide.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Just A Thought, Polls

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The Ideal Human Being – What Gets Your Vote?

  1. Kristie

    June 9, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    No, Ella. You should want your characters to be imperfect, flawed. That is what bonds them with the reader. A reader doesn’t want to read about someone else being perfect. A reader wants to read that the character is more imperfect than they are. It makes them feel better about their everyday situations and troubles. If a character is handsome or beautiful then it should definitely have a personality or strength weakness. They should always have something wrong about them.

     
    • ellamedler

      June 9, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      That is exactly it – I can’t create a perfect character. I still wonder, though. What would make a perfect human being?

       
      • Kristie

        June 9, 2012 at 6:15 pm

        Obviously me. Lol. No seriously, a perfect human would be beautiful on the inside as well as out. They would never think about themselves, only others. They would spend every day thinking how they could make the world better, end poverty, end prejudice, end war, and then act on their ideas. If they did take a gift from someone, they would give back twice as much. That is what I think a perfect human would be. Obviously not me, but at least I try.

         
  2. Martin Bannon

    June 9, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    There’s one characteristic missing that’s tops on my list, one that all of my closest friends (and my husband) possess: a sense of humor. Laughter really is good medicine that I can’t live without.

     
    • ellamedler

      June 9, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Martin, in your honour – I’ve managed to squeeze it in. You are very right. I don’t know where I would be now without a sense of humour. Thank you for the suggestion.

       
      • Martin Bannon

        June 9, 2012 at 6:52 pm

        Thanks, Ella! I’ve gone back and checked it as well. BTW, the subhead on your blog is the WordPress default (“Just another WordPress site”); you might want to personalise that or remove it. Cheers! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
