Writers and Writing

Sunday, ahh, a day to relax. So I can think of nothing better than sitting down with a book of quotations on my lap and a glass of something cool and refreshing, garnished with a slice of lemon.

I’ve found a couple of quotations that amuse me. Here they are.

In America only the successful writer is important, in France all writers are important, in England no writer is important, in Australia you have to explain what a writer is. (Geoffrey Cotterell)

The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in shock-proof shit-detector. (Ernest Hemingway)

And one more, for luck.

Writing is the only profession where no one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money. (Jules Renard)

8 Replies to “Writers and Writing”

  1. I needed that, luv. My eyes are crossed from fixing the format for Eternal Island. And I’m only on chapter 6. Uggh! It may be another week before I get it to you, but I’m sure you have plenty to do in the meantime. Hope you had a great weekend. :o) hugs & gummy bears.

      1. Even dogs give themselves a break when they chase their tails or do something that isn’t life threatening if they don’t do it. That rules out eating, drinking, sleeping and toilet breaks.
        Dog = bone
        Ella = book
        Dog = crazy
        Ella = mad
        Me = umm… I don’t think there’s a word for me.

Leave a Reply

