Modern Savoir-Faire

Amazing how the harsh economic climate can affect a human being in the most unexpected ways.

I mean, there are the unemployed, the hungry, the broke, the newly rich… But who would have been able to predict the emergence of The Tactful? I sure didn’t.

Don’t know what I mean? Well, I can give you ten examples, to demonstrate what I mean.

Ten years ago, we would have said:

  1. The minute I find a better job, I’m outta here
  2. I’ve used Microsoft Office
  3. That’s impossible
  4. I don’t give a damn
  5. It won’t work
  6. Another frigging meeting?
  7. Not in my job description
  8. This job sucks
  9. What the hell?
  10. When on Earth do you expect me to do this?

The way we say it now, in true Tactful fashion:

  1. I’m highly motivated to succeed
  2. I’m extremely adept at all manner of office organization
  3. That may not be an entirely feasible option
  4. Of course I am concerned
  5. I will research the best way to implement this
  6. Yes, we really should discuss this
  7. I’m a bit overloaded at the moment, but I’m sure I can come in over the weekend to work on it
  8. I really enjoy a challenge
  9. That is interesting behavior. Refreshing, even.
  10. Perhaps I could work late, in fact I have no plans tonight. My two toddlers and heavily pregnant wife wouldn’t mind me working late at all.
3 Replies to “Modern Savoir-Faire”

Leave a Reply

