RSS

Anticlimax

07 May

As many of you already know, I’ve had a very busy three or four days. No, busy doesn’t cover it. I’ve had the kind of days where you spend a twelve-hour shift in front of your computer and limit your food and drink intake to the absolute minimum necessary for basic life function, and after a short and screamingly necessary break you return to do just a little bit more work.

I went to bed tired and wrung out and woke up exhausted but determined to keep going. It took two solid days’ editing, but finally I was happy with the end result. One more half day to check for the millionth time that no errors could have crept and hidden between the lines overnight and then another half day playing the self-publishing game, first by Smashwords‘ rules, and then by KDP’s.

Ta-dah! By the end of the third day the ‘Publish’ buttons had been clicked and there was no turning back. No more worrying about formatting, the copyright page, any table of contents links or acknowledgements and dedications. The typos (though I don’t believe there are any) and too-English turns of phrase are there to stay now. No point worrying about details anymore.

I spent the fourth day making it known to all and sundry that my book was available for download and I am very happy with the result. I wouldn’t have imagined the number of people interested to run into three figures in just the first twenty-four hours. If only ten percent of them would post reviews, I would be hopping about with joy.

Today I’m feeling a bit like my balloon’s been punctured. THE BIG JOB has been accomplished and now I can go back to my editing and reading and reviewing business. Sure, I have a backlog, but that’s not going to get in my way for more than a week or so, and then what?

Yes, I plan to publish an author resource book in September and a sequel to Blood Is Heavier in December, but those plans are far away kind of plans. Right NOW is when I feel lost. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not wasting time. I’m reading with a view to writing a book review tomorrow. It’s not put the sadness of saying goodbye to my baby out of my mind yet. Up until now, Nick Hunter’s story was my secret. Now it’s out there, open for everyone to pick up with one click. In a way, it feels like bereavement. I’m not sure my reaction is entirely logical, but there you are: that is me.

Has anyone else felt that way before? Is it normal or am I losing it? I would appreciate your comments. Thank you.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Just A Thought

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Anticlimax

  1. Paradox

    May 7, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    how does that saying go… the calm before the storm… the frustrating wait for reviews to come in… and the throat clenching fingers around your throat while the thoughts in your head whisper – or shout…will they like it???

     
  2. ellamedler

    May 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    So… I should just catch up on jobs now that I still can? Is that what you’re saying? I worried about ‘would they like it’ before pushing the ‘publish’ button. It’s too late for that now. I suppose I’m not the most patient person in the world. Maybe I should go do some research for the sequel…

     
  3. Paradox

    May 7, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    great idea…. keep busy! Research is great. I find that usually gives me ideas for new plot lines that i hadn’t thought about earlier! But don’t forget to take some time to take a breath and chill for a while – you deserve it 🙂

     
  4. karensdifferentcorners

    May 7, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    I just finished writing a post on editing and revising and then got the email saying you posted a new post! Congrats on getting yours done! So I edited my post and shared your post on mine. 🙂

     
  5. karensdifferentcorners

    May 8, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Hi again Ella I received the Versatile Blogger award today and I choose your blog as one of my favorite blogs to pass the award on to. Congrats and thank you for your great post this morning! Stop by my blog to collect 🙂

     
  6. ellamedler

    May 8, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Wow! Really? Thank you, Karen. That definitely made my day. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
